Mayor Eric Garcetti seeing results of the “Safe Sidewalks LA” program. Photo via @MayorofLA Twitter feed

Mayor Eric Garcetti will be sworn in for a second term Saturday during a ceremony at City Hall, while other officials who were also victorious in the recent elections will take the oath of office as well.

Being sworn in with Garcetti will be City Attorney Mike Feuer, City Controller Ron Galperin and City Council members Gil Cedillo, Bob Blumenfield, Paul Koretz, Monica Rodriguez, Curren Price, Mike Bonin, Mitch O’Farrell and Joe Buscaino.

Thousands of people are expected for what is being billed as “a celebration of Los Angeles,” with “L.A.-centric performances” by actor George Takei, KCRW-FM (89.9) music director and host Jason Bentley, opera and concert singer Angel Joy Blue, UCLA’s Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz Performance and the Los Angeles Master Chorale.

Garcetti faced 10 opponents in his re-election bid, but none with any significant name recognition or financial resources, and won in a landslide in March.

Incumbents Feuer, Galperin, and Blumenfield all ran unopposed, while Koretz, Price, Buscaino and O’Farrell all bested their challengers in the March primary. Cedillo was forced into a May runoff but easily defeated challenger Joe Bray-Ali.

Rodriguez, a former member of the Board of Public Works, beat Karo Torossian, a staffer for Councilman Paul Krekorian, in the 7th Council District election in the May runoff.

The 7th District has been unrepresented since former Councilman Felipe Fuentes stepped down in September to become a lobbyist, but Rodriguez will not get a chance to cast any votes for her district for a few weeks because the City Council is on a recess through July 21.

Garcetti’s term is for 5 1/2 years instead of the standard four years because of a change in election dates approved by voters in 2015.

—City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.