Oscar-winning director Kathryn Bigelow of “Hurt Locker” fame,, writer- director Judd Apatow and Netflix Chief Content Officer Ted Sarandos will be feted Thursday evening by the SAG-AFTRA Foundation, which will present them with Patron of the Artists Awards.

The awards honor people who are “champions of the arts” and whose efforts to foster creativity have “made a positive impact on the acting profession and the performing arts.”

“We are excited to pay tribute to three extraordinary people whose creative impact on the performing arts has produced ground-breaking opportunities for a world-wide community of artists,” SAG-AFTRA Foundation President JoBeth Williams said.

Previous recipients of the Patron of the Artists Awards have included writer/director Lee Daniels, producer Megan Ellison and director Rob Marshall.

The foundation will also present a Recording Artists Inspiration Award to Lionel Richie and an Actors Inspiration Award to Kate Winslet.

The luminaries will be honored during a gala event at the Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts in Beverly Hills.

 —City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.