Scene from "Call Me by Your Name."
Scene from “Call Me By Your Name.” Image for official trailer

Screenwriters and authors behind the films “Call Me By Your Name,” “The Disaster Artist,” “Logan,” “The Lost City of Z,” “Molly’s Game,” “Mudbound” and “Wonder Woman” will compete Saturday for the 30th annual USC Libraries’ Scripter Award.

The Scripter Award, established in 1988, honors authors of printed works and the screenwriters who adapt their stories. Normally only five films are nominated, but organizers said there was a three-way tie in the nomination round of voting this year.

For television programs, nominees are the writers and authors behind “Alias Grace,” “Big Little Lies,” “Genius,” “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” and “Mindhunter.”

The finalists for the awards were chosen from a field of 91 film and 28 television adaptations. Among the members of the selection committee are film critics Leonard Maltin, Anne Thompson and Kenneth Turan; authors Lisa Belkin, Michael Chabon and Michael Ondaatje; screenwriters Geoffrey Fletcher and Erin Cressida Wilson; producers Suzanne Todd and Mike Medavoy; and USC deans Elizabeth Daley of the School of Cinematic Arts and Catherine Quinlan of the USC Libraries.

The awards for film and television will be presented at a ceremony at USC’s Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library.

The film nominees are:

— Author Andre Aciman and screenwriter James Ivory for “Call Me By Your Name”;

— Screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for “The Disaster Artist,” and authors Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell for their nonfiction book “The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside `The Room,’ the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made”;

— Screenwriters Scott Frank, Michael Green and James Mangold, and authors Roy Thomas, Len Wein and John Romita Sr. for “Logan”;

— Screenwriter James Gray and author David Grann for “The Lost City of Z”;

— Screenwriter Aaron Sorkin and author Molly Bloom for “Molly’s Game”;

— Screenwriters Dee Rees and Virgil Williams and author Hillary Jordan for “Mudbound”; and

— Screenwriter Allan Heinberg and author William Moulton Marston for “Wonder Woman.”

The television nominees are:

— Screenwriter Sarah Polley and author Margaret Atwood for “Alias Grace”;

— David E. Kelley, for the episode “You Get What You Need” from “Big Little Lies,” and author Liane Moriarty;

— Noah Pink and Ken Biller for the episode “Einstein: Chapter One” from “Genius,” and author Walter Isaacson for his book “Einstein: His Life and Word”;

— Bruce Miller for the episode “Offred” from “The Handmaid’s Tale” and author Margaret Atwood;

— Peter Landesman, George C. Wolfe and Alexander Woo for the television film “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks,” and author Rebecca Skloot; and

— Joe Penhall and Jennifer Haley for Episode 10 of “Mindhunter” and authors John Douglas and Mark Olshaker for their nonfiction book “Mindhunter: Inside the FBI’s Elite Serial Crime Unit.”

—City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *