A wide variety of performers took home hardware Sunday evening from the BET Awards held at the Microsoft Theater in downtown Los Angeles.

Notable winners were Best Female R&B-Pop Artist winner Beyonce; Best Male R&B-Pop Artist winner Bruno Mars; Best Male Hip-Hop Artist winner Kendrick Lamar; and Best Female Hip-Hop Artist winner Cardi B.

Lamar also took home the Best Album of the Year honors for his project, “Damn.”

Drake’s”God’s Plan” won Video Of The Year .

Singer SZA was chosen Best New Artist.

Best Collaboration went to DJ Khaled ‘s”Wild Thoughts,”featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller.

R&B legend and Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Anita Baker was given with the BET’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Baker’s career has panned four decades and includes eight Grammy Awards for songs such as “Giving You The Best That I Got,” “Sweet Love” and “Rapture” and seven platinum albums.

Baker announced her retirement earlier this year and is currently embarking on a farewell concert series.

This year, for the first time, BET selected six individuals to honor as Humanitarian Heroes for taking a stand for human rights. They were:

— James Shaw Jr., who disarmed a man who shot and killed four people at a Waffle House restaurant in Nashville, Tenn.

— Naomi Wadler, an 11-year-old activist who delivered a stirring speech at the March For Our Lives gun control rally in Washington, D.C. earlier this year

— Mamoudou Gassama, who climbed outside a building to save a 4-year-old who was dangling from the balcony of an apartment bulding in Paris last month

— Justin Blackman, the only student out of 700 who walked out of his high school in North Carolina during the National Student Walk-Out in March

— Shaun King, a journalist who has been instrumental in covering untold stories in the black community

— Anthony Borges, a survivor of the mass shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla. who threw himself in line of fire and was shot five times.

Academy and Grammy award-winning actor-musician-comedian Jamie Foxx hosted the ceremony for the second time. He previously hosted in 2009.

Actors Tyler Perry, Regina Hall and Omari Hardwick were among the presenters. Performers will include J. Cole, Nicki Minaj, Migos, Snoop Dogg and Janelle Monae.

The show will air live from the Microsoft Theater in downtown Los Angeles.

Here is a complete list of winners:

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist

— Beyonce

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist

— Bruno Mars

Best Group

— Migos

Best Collaboration

— DJ Khaled f/Rihanna and Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts”

Best Male Hip-Hop Artist

— Kendrick Lamar

Best Female Hip-Hop Artist

— Cardi B

Video Of The Year

— Drake – “God’s Plan”

Video Director Of The Year

— Ava DuVernay

Best New Artist


Album Of The Year

— Kendrick Lamar – Damn

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

— Lecrae f/ Tory Kelly – “I’ll Find You”

Best Actress Award

— Tiffany Haddish

Best Actor Award

— Chadwick Boseman

Young Stars Award

— Yara Shahidi

Best Movie Award

— Black Panther

Sportswoman of the Year Award

— Serena Williams

Sportsman of the Year Award

— LeBron James

BET Her Award

— Mary J. Blige – “Strength of a Woman”

Coca-Cola Viewers’ Choice Award

— Cardi B – “Bodak Yellow”

The Best International Act Award

— Davido (Nigeria)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.