Actress Cicely Tyson, composer Lalo Schifrin and publicist Marvin Levy will receive Honorary Awards Sunday evening from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which will also present married producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall with the coveted Irving Thalberg Award.

The honors will be presented during the Academy’s Governors Awards event at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood & Highland Center.

Kennedy, who is president of Lucasfilm, will be the first woman to receive the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, which is presented to people “whose body of work reflects a consistently high quality of motion picture production.”

Since forming a partnership in 1991, Kennedy and Marshall have earned best-picture Oscar nominations for the films “The Sixth Sense,” “Seabiscuit,” “Munich” and “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.” They previously co-founded Amblin Productions with Steven Spielberg. Marshall was also previously nominated for a best picture Oscar for “Raiders of the Lost Ark,” while Kennedy earned nods for “E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial,” “War Horse” and “Lincoln.”

The 93-year-old Tyson, who was nominated for a best-actress Oscar for “Sounder,” has been a motion picture fixture for 50-plus years, appearing in films including “The Heart is a Lonely Hunter,” “Fried Green Tomatoes,” “Diary of a Mad Black Woman,” “The Help” and “Last Flag Flying.” She won Emmy Awards for her work in “The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman” and “Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All.” In 2013, she won a Tony Award for “The Trip to Bountiful.”

Schifrin — who is perhaps best known for composing the theme for the “Mission: Impossible” television series — earned original-score Oscar nominations for “Cool Hand Luke,” “The Fox,” “Voyage of the Damned” and “The Amityville Horror.” His other credits include “Bullitt,” “Dirty Harry,” “Enter the Dragon” and “Rush Hour.”

Levy originally worked publicity for MGM before joining Columbia Pictures and guiding ad campaigns for films such as “The Deep” and “Kramer vs. Kramer.” His decades-long work with Spielberg led him to work publicity for films including “E.T.,” “Back to the Future,” “Schindler’s List,” “Saving Private Ryan” and “Lincoln.”

Levy will be the first publicist to receive an Honorary Award, which recognizes “extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.