Director Alfonso Cuaron’s “Roma” was the big prize winner at Sunday evening’s Directors Guild of America ceremony, taking home the best feature film award before a high-echelon crowd at Hollywood’s Ray Dolby Ballroom.

Cuaron, who already has won Golden Globe and Critics’ Choice awards this year, previously won the DGA award in 2013 for helming “Gravity.”

Since 1948, there have only been seven times that the winner of the DGA award for feature film directing has not gone on to win the Oscar for best director.

Here is a complete list of winners:

Feature Film:

— Alfonso Cuaron, “Roma”

First-Time Feature Film Director:

— Bo Burnham, “Eighth Grade”


— Tim Wardle, “Three Identical Strangers”

Drama Series:

— Adam McKay, “Succession”

Comedy Series:

— Bill Hader, “Barry”

Movies for Television and Limited Series:

— Ben Stiller, “Escape at Dannemora”

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming:

— Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live”

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials:

— Louis J. Horvitz, “The 60th Grammy Awards”

Reality Programs:

— Russell Norman, “The Final Table”

Children’s Programs:

— Jack Jameson, “Sesame Street”:


— Spike Jonze, for Apple Homepod

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *