Emmy Awards season kicked into gear Tuesday with the announcement of juried award winners in animation, choreography, interactive programming and motion design.

The honors will be formally presented during a Creative Arts Emmy ceremony on Sept. 17.

The Creative Arts Emmys, during which the bulk of the Emmy statuettes are awarded, will be distributed over five nights from Sept. 14-19, with four nights of ceremonies streaming online and one shown on the FXX cable network.

The main 72nd Emmy Awards ceremony, during which the major honors are presented, will be held virtually Sept. 20.

The winners of juried awards, which are determined through a screening process with professionals in each peer group, are:

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation:

— Jill Dykxhoorn, lead background artist, “Archer,” FX Networks

— Dan MacKenzie, character animator, “Cosmos: Possible Worlds,” National Geographic

— Genndy Tartakovsky, storyboard artist, “Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal,” Adult Swim

— Scott Wills, art director, “Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal,” Adult Swim

— Stephen DeStefano, “Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal,” Adult Swim

Outstanding Choreography for Scripted Programming:

— Mandy Moore, choreographer, “Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist,” NBC

Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming:

— Sam Wasserman and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, executive producer, “Create Together,” YouTube

— Ricardo Laganaro, director; Ricardo Justus, executive producer; Edouard de Montmort, executive producer, “The Line,” Oculus

Outstanding Motion Design:

— Leanne Dare, creative director; and Eben McCue, Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes and David Navas, animators, “Inside Bill’s Brain: Decoding Bill Gates,” Netflix

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.