The race for this year’s best-picture Oscar began to solidify Monday with the release of nominations for the Producers Guild of America Awards, an honor that often portends success on Oscar night.

Earning nominations for the top award for motion pictures were “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm,” “Judas and the Black Messiah,” “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom,” “Mank,” “Minari,” “Nomadland,” “One Night in Miami,” “Promising Young Woman,” “Sound of Metal” and “The Trial of the Chicago 7.”

Since the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences expanded from five to 10 nominees in 2010, only three films have won the best picture Oscar without first winning the PGA Award. In 2016, the PGA Award went to “The Big Short,” but the Oscar went to “Spotlight.” The following year, “La La Land” won the PGA honor, while the Academy honored “Moonlight.” Last year, the PGA Award went to “1917,” but the Oscar went to “Parasite.”

According to the PGA, since the guild’s inception, the PGA has predicted 21 of the 31 winners of the best picture Oscar.

“Nomadland” has been gaining awards season momentum, first winning a Golden Globe for best drama film and winning the film prize on Sunday at the Critics Choice Awards.

For animated films, PGA nominations went to “The Croods: A New Age,” “Onward,” “Over the Moon,” “Soul” and “Windwalkers.”

Netflix’s “The Crown” has been collecting plenty of awards so far this season, and it was among those shows earning a PGA nod for TV dramas. Also nominated were “Better Call Saul,” “Bridgerton,” “The Mandalorian” and “Ozark.”

For comedy series, nominations went to “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” “The Flight Attendant,” “Schitt’s Creek,” “Ted Lasso” and “What We Do in the Shadows.”

The PGA Awards will be presented March 24 in a virtual ceremony.

Here is a complete list of nominees:

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

“Borat Subsequent Moviefilm,” Producers: Sacha Baron Cohen, Monica Levinson, Anthony Hines

“Judas and the Black Messiah,” Producers: Charles D. King, Ryan Coogler, Shaka King

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom,” Producers: Denzel Washington, Todd Black

“Mank,” Producers: Ceán Chaffin, Eric Roth, Douglas Urbanski

“Minari,”,” Producer: Christina Oh

“Nomadland,” Producers: Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Chloé Zhao

“One Night In Miami…,” Producers: Jess Wu Calder & Keith Calder, Jody Klein

“Promising Young Woman,” Producers: Josey McNamara, Ben Browning, Ashley Fox, Emerald Fennell

“Sound Of Metal,” Producers: Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche

“The Trial of the Chicago 7,” Producers: Marc Platt, Stuart Besser

Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

“The Croods: A New Age,” Producer: Mark Swift

“Onward,” Producer: Kori Rae

“Over the Moon,” Producers: Gennie Rim, Peilin Chou

“Soul,” Producer: Dana Murray

“Wolfwalkers,” Producers: Paul Young, Nora Twomey, Tomm Moore, Stéphan Roelants

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Drama

“Better Call Saul (Season 5),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“Bridgerton (Season 1),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“The Crown (Season 4),” Producers: Peter Morgan, Suzanne Mackie, Stephen Daldry, Andy Harries, Benjamin Caron, Matthew Byam Shaw, Robert Fox, Michael Casey, Andy Stebbing, Martin Harrison, Oona O’Beirn

“The Mandalorian (Season 2),” Producers: Jon Favreau, Dave Filoni, Kathleen Kennedy, Colin Wilson, Karen Gilchrist, John Bartnicki, Carrie Beck

“Ozark (Season 3),” Producers: Jason Bateman, Chris Mundy, Bill Dubuque, Mark Williams, Patrick Markey, John Shiban, Miki Johnson, Matthew Spiegel, Erin Mitchell, Martin Zimmerman, Peter Thorell

Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy

“Curb Your Enthusiasm (Season 10),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“The Flight Attendant (Season 1),” Producers: Greg Berlanti, Kaley Cuoco, Steve Yockey, Meredith Lavender, Marcie Ulin, Sarah Schechter, Suzanne McCormack, Jess Meyer, Raymond Quinlan, Jennifer Lence, Erika Kennair

“Schitt’s Creek (Season 6),” Producers: Eugene Levy, Daniel Levy, Andrew Barnsley, Fred Levy, David West Read, Ben Feigin, Michael Short, Kurt Smeaton, Kosta Orfanidis

“Ted Lasso (Season 1),” Producers: Bill Lawrence, Jason Sudeikis, Jeff Ingold, Bill Wrubel, Liza Katzer, Jane Becker, Jamie Lee, Kip Kroeger, Brendan Hunt, Tina Pawlik, Joe Kelly

“What We Do in the Shadows (Season 2),” Producers: Jemaine Clement, Taika Waititi, Paul Simms, Scott Rudin, Garrett Basch, Eli Bush, Stefani Robinson, Sam Johnson, Marika Sawyer, Derek S. Rappaport

David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television

“I May Destroy You,” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“Normal People,” Producers: Lenny Abrahamson, Sally Rooney, Ed Guiney, Andrew Lowe, Emma Norton, Anna Ferguson, Catherine Magee

“The Queen’s Gambit,” Producers: William Horberg, Allan Scott, Scott Frank, Marcus Loges, Mick Aniceto

“The Undoing,” Producers: Susanne Bier, David E. Kelley, Per Saari, Nicole Kidman, Bruna Papandrea, Stephen Garrett, Celia Costas, Deb Dyer

“Unorthodox,” Producers: Anna Winger, Henning Kamm, Alexa Karolinksi

Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures

“Bad Education,” Producers: Fred Berger, Eddie Vaisman

“Dolly Parton’s Christmas on the Square,” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“Hamilton,” Producers: Thomas Kail, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Jeffrey Seller

“Jane Goodall: The Hope,” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“What the Constitution Means To Me,” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

“60 Minutes (Season 53),” Producer: Bill Owens

“The Last Dance (Season 1),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“Laurel Canyon,” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“McMillion$ (Season 1),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“Tiger King: Murder, Mayhem and Madness,” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

“8:46 – Dave Chappelle (Special),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“The Daily Show with Trevor Noah (Season 26),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 7),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (Season 6),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“Saturday Night Live (Season 46),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

“The Amazing Race (Season 32),” Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan Littman, Elise Doganieri, Mark Vertullo, Phil Keoghan

“The Masked Singer (Season 3, Season 4),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“Nailed It! (Season 4),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“RuPaul’s Drag Race (Season 12),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

“The Voice (Season 18, Season 19),” Producers: Eligibility Determination Pending

Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures

“David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet,” Producer: Jonnie Hughes

“Dick Johnson Is Dead,” Producer: Kirsten Johnson, Katy Chevigny, Marilyn Ness

“My Octopus Teacher,” Producer: Craig Foster

“Softie,” Producers: Toni Kamau, Sam Soko

“A Thousand Cuts,” Producers: Ramona S. Diaz, Leah Marino, Julie Goldman & Christopher Clements, Carolyn Hepburn

“Time,” Producers: Lauren Domino, Kellen Quinn, Garrett Bradley

“The Truffle Hunters,” Producers: Michael Dweck, Gregory Kershaw

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *