After a socially distanced ceremony in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic, the BET Awards will return to a live ceremony Sunday evening at the Microsoft Theater in downtown Los Angeles, with rappers Megan Thee Stallion and DaBaby leading the pack with seven nominations each.

Actress Taraji P. Henson will host Sunday’s show, and musician and actress Queen Latifah will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement BET Award.

“For more than 20 years, the BET Awards have been a celebration of Black creativity, art and excellence,” Henson said. “Returning live, this year’s show will be unlike anything we have ever seen before, and I am honored to be sharing the stage with so many powerful and prolific women in music and entertainment. The BET Awards will once again be at the forefront of Black culture.”

Megan Thee Stallion’s seven nominations are for Best Female Hip Hop Artist, Video of the Year (“WAP”), Album of the Year (“Good News”), Viewer’s Choice Award (twice) and Best Collaboration (also twice, for her work with DaBaby (“Cry Baby”) and Cardi B (“WAP”).

DaBaby’s nominations are for Best Male Hip Hop Artist, Album of the Year (“Blame it on Baby”), Viewer’s Choice Award, and four nods for Best Collaboration (with Roddy Ricch for “Rockstar,” Megan Thee Stallion for “Cry Baby,” Smoke & Lil Baby for “For The Night,” and Jack Harlow Tory Lanez & Lil Wayne for “Whats Poppin-Remix”).

Other leading nominees include Cardi B and Drake with five each.

Performing on the show will be Andra Day, City Girls, DaBaby, DJ Khaled, Griselda, H.E.R., Jazmine Sullivan, Just Blaze, Kirk Franklin, Lil Baby, Lil Durk, Mereba, Migos, Moneybagg Yo!, Rapsody, Roddy Ricch and Tone Stith.

The ceremony will also include a tribute to rapper DMX, who died April 9 at the age of 50 following a heart attack. The tribute will include Busta Rhymes, Method Man, Griselda and Michael K. Williams.

The 21st annual BET Awards will be broadcast at 8 p.m. on BET. It will also air live at 5 p.m. on BET Her, Logo, MTV, MTV2, TV Land and VH1.

Here is a complete list of nominees:

–Album of the Year

The Weeknd, After Hours

DaBaby, Blame It On Baby

Megan Thee Stallion, Good News

Jazmine Sullivan, Heaux Tales

Nas, King’s Disease

Chloe x Halle, Ungodly Hour

–Female R&B/Pop Artist



Jazmine Sullivan

Jhené Aiko

Summer Walker


–Male R&B/Pop Artist


Anderson .Paak

Chris Brown



The Weeknd

–Female Hip-Hop Artist

Cardi B

Coi Leray

Doja Cat

Megan Thee Stallion



–Male Hip-Hop Artist



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Lil Baby

Pop Smoke

–New Artist

Coi Leray

Flo Milli


Jack Harlow


Pooh Shiesty

–Best Group

21 Savage & Metro Boomin

Chloe x Halle

Chris Brown & Young Thug

City Girls


Silk Sonic

–Best Collaboration

“WAP” (Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion)

“Rockstar” (DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch)

“Popstar” (DJ Khaled feat. Drake)

“Whats Poppin (Remix)” (Jack Harlow feat. DaBaby, Tory Lanez & Lil Wayne)

“Cry Baby” (Megan Thee Stallion feat. DaBaby)

“For the Night” (Pop Smoke feat. Lil Baby & DaBaby)

–Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

“In Jesus Name,” Bebe Winans

“Never Lost,” Cece Winans

“Hold Us Together,” H.E.R.

“Strong God,” Kirk Franklin

“Thank You for It All,” Marvin Sapp

“Touch From You,” Tamela Mann

–BET Her Award

“So Done,” Alicia Keys feat. Khalid

“Baby Mama,” Brandy feat. Chance the Rapper

“Anti Queen,” Bri Steves

“Baby Girl,” Chloe x Halle

“Rooted,” Ciara feat. Ester Dean

“Good Days,” SZA

–Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Emicida (Brazil)

Headie One (UK)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Young T & Bugsey (UK)

Youssoupha (France)

–Viewer’s Choice Award

“WAP,” Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion

“Go Crazy,” Chris Brown & Young Thug

“Rockstar,” DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch

“Popstar,” DJ Khaled feat. Drake

“Laugh Now Cry Later,” Drake feat. Lil Durk

“The Bigger Picture,” Lil Baby

“Savage (Remix),” Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyoncé

“Leave the Door Open,” Silk Sonic

–Video Of The Year

“Up,” Cardi B

“WAP,” Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion

“Do It,” Chloe x Halle

“Go Crazy,” Chris Brown & Young Thug

“Laugh Now Cry Later,” Drake feat. Lil Durk

“Leave the Door Open,” Silk Sonic

–Video Director Of The Year

Benny Boom

Bruno Mars and Florent Déchard

Cole Bennett

Colin Tilley

Dave Meyers

Hype Williams

–Best Movie

“Coming 2 America”

“Judas and the Black Messiah”

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

“One Night in Miami”


“The United States vs. Billie Holiday”

–Best Actress

Andra Day

Angela Bassett

Issa Rae

Jurnee Smollett

Viola Davis


–Best Actor

Aldis Hodge

Chadwick Boseman

Damson Idris

Daniel Kaluuya

Eddie Murphy

Lakeith Stanfield

–Youngstars Award

Alex R. Hibbert

Ethan Hutchison

Lonnie Chavis

Marsai Martin

Michael Epps

Storm Reid

–Sportsman Of The Year

Kyrie Irving

LeBron James

Patrick Mahomes

Russell Westbrook

Russell Wilson

Stephen Curry

–Sportswoman Of The Year

A’ja Wilson

Candace Parker

Claressa Shields

Naomi Osaka

Serena Williams

Skylar Diggins-Smith

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.