The College Football Hall of Fame side entrance in South Bend, Indiana.
Photo by Derek Jensen (Tysto), 2005-May-22

Former USC defensive backs Mark Carrier and Troy Polamalu and former UCLA quarterback Cade McNown and linebacker Ken Norton Jr. are among 173 former players who will appear on the 2018 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame unveiled Thursday.

Carrier won the Jim Thorpe Award in 1989 as the nation’s top defensive back, the year he led the Pacific-10 Conference with seven interceptions. Polamalu was a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award in 2002.

McNown holds numerous school records and led the Bruins to the 1998 Pacific-10 Conference title. Norton was the Bruins’ leading tackler in 1986 and 1987.

Two other players from Los Angeles-area schools will also be on the ballot — former Occidental receiver Rick Fry, college football’s leading receiver in the 1976 and 1977 seasons, and Pat Hauser, a four-year starter at offensive tackle for Cal State Northridge from 1980-83.

All players on the ballot must have been first-team all-Americans.

The players selected for the College Football Hall of Fame will be announced Jan. 8, the day of the College Football Playoff National Championship.

—City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.