Viewing parties are planned throughout Los Angeles County for Friday’s Democratic presidential debate, the last before Tuesday’s New Hampshire primary.

Parties organized by supporters of former South Bend, Indiana, Mayor Pete Buttigieg will be held at:

— 126 Ball Drive, Claremont;

— Busby’s West, 3110 Santa Monica Blvd., Santa Monica;

— Ecco’s Pizza Restaurant, 2123 N. Bellflower Blvd., Long Beach;

— The 8th Notch, 3500 Wilshire Blvd., Koreatown;

— MacLeoad Ale Brewing Co., 14741 Calvert St., Van Nuys;

— Redline DTLA, 131 E. Sixth St., downtown Los Angeles;

— Revolver Video Bar, 8851 Santa Monica Blvd., West Hollywood; and

— Shakey’s Pizza, 2520 S. Azusa Ave., West Covina.

Parties organized by supporters of Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders will be held at:

— 49 Oak Cliff Drive, Pomona;

— 285 S. Atlantic Blvd., East Los Angeles;

— 425 11th St., Santa Monica;

— 605 S. Sloan Ave., Compton;

— The Abbey, 692 N. Robertson Blvd., West Hollywood;

— Chariotdrive, 3151 Cahuenga Blvd. West, Hollywood Hills;

— Little Joy Cocktails, 1477 Sunset Blvd., Echo Park; and

— USC, Wallis Annenberg Hall, 3630 Watt Way.

Parties organized by supporters of former hedge fund manager Tom Steyer will be held at:

— 2123-2125 E. Palmdale. Blvd, Palmdale;

— 11400 Victory Blvd., North Hollywood; and

— Busby’s West, 3110 Santa Monica Blvd., Santa Monica.

Parties organized by supporters of Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren will be held at:

— 1739 Public House, 1739 N. Vermont Ave., Los Feliz;

— Casey’s Irish Pub, 613 S. Grand Ave., downtown Los Angeles;

— Tacos N Miches, 12913 Philadelphia St., Whittier; and

— The York, 5018 York Blvd., Highland Park.

Parties organized by supporters of entrepreneur Andrew Yang will be held at:

— Biegarten, 206 N. Western Ave., Koreatown;

— Cafe Dulce, USC Village, 3096 McClintock Ave.;

— Hyperion Public, 2538 Hyperion Ave., Silver Lake; and

— Los Tres Hermanos Restaurant Bar and Grill, 6269 Van Nuys Blvd., Van Nuys.

The planned three-hour debate sanctioned by the Democratic National Committee will begin at 5 p.m. and be televised by ABC and streamed live on ABC News Live, which is carried by Apple News, Roku, Hulu, AppleTV, Amazon Fire TV, Xumo, Sling TV, YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, ABC News’ website at, and mobile phone apps, and WMUR-TV’s mobile app.

ABC News chief anchor George Stephanopoulos, “World News Tonight” anchor David Muir and ABC News Live anchor Linsey Davis will moderate the debate at Saint Anselm College in Manchester, New Hampshire. They will be joined by Adam Sexton, the political director of WMUR-TV, ABC’s Manchester affiliate, and Monica Hernandez, a WMUR anchor.

Candidates will be allowed one minute, 15 seconds to answer direct questions with 45 seconds for rebuttals at the discretion of the moderators.

The field for the campaign’s eighth debate was based on qualification criteria agreed to by the DNC and ABC. Candidates had to meet one of two polling requirements and a unique donor requirement.

Candidates had to receive 5% or more support in at least four polls — which may be national polls, or single-state polls in the early voting states of New Hampshire, South Carolina and Nevada in DNC-approved polls — or 7% or more support in two single-state polls in those states released between Dec. 13 and Thursday.

Candidates were also required to receive contributions from at least 225,000 unique donors, including a minimum of 1,000 unique donors per state in at least 20 states, U.S. territories or the District of Columbia.

Yang will be returning to the debate stage after failing to qualify for the last debate, Jan. 14, because he did not meet either of the poll standards. He had qualified for each of the first six debates.

The positions of the candidates on the stage was determined by the average of their support in polls certified for qualifying for the debate, with the highest polling candidates near the center.

Standing from left to right will be Yang, Buttigieg, Sanders, former Vice President Joe Biden, Warren, Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar and Steyer.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.