Wisconsin participated in Lawry’s Beef Bowl in Beverly Hills Saturday, one day after its opponent in Wednesday’s 106th Rose Bowl Game, Oregon.

The Rose Bowl teams have annually participated in the Beef Bowl since 1956. The Beef Bowl is older than all but the Rose, Orange, Cotton, Sugar and Sun bowls. It is billed by organizers as college football’s most enduring pre-bowl game tradition.

Lawry’s Beef Bowl has not been a competition since 1970. Coaches are informed that there is a limit of two servings of prime rib per player.

Richard R. Frank, president and chief executive officer of Lawry’s Restaurants Inc., said Lawry’s Beef Bowl “is not about what team eats the most.”

“The purpose of the event is to honor champion student-athletes for their achievement as a team of making it to the Rose Bowl Game,” said Frank, whose late father, Richard N. Frank, conceived the Beef Bowl in 1956, shortly after becoming Lawry’s president.

“The meal is a large part of the celebration because these are young men with enormous appetites, but it’s more about celebrating together away from the practice field in a legendary setting.”

For the second consecutive year, both portions of the Beef Bowl included the presentation of the Tournament of Roses Scholar Athlete Award to a player from each team.

Redshirt sophomore defensive end Matt Henningsen was Wisconsin’s winner. The electrical engineering major is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.

Quarterback Justin Herbert was announced as Oregon’s recipient Friday. Herbert is a general science major with a focus in biology with a 4.01 grade-point average as an undergraduate.

Herbert was the 2019 recipient of the William V. Campbell Trophy, which is considered the “academic Heisman,” honoring academic and athletic success along with leadership and community achievement.

The Campbell Trophy is college football’s most prestigious award, honoring both athletic and academic achievement.

Herbert was the CoSIDA Academic All-America Team Member of the Year for Division I Football for the 2018 and 2019 seasons and the 2019 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for football for the Pac-12 Conference.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.