Award categories were shuffled, cut and split to make a lucky 18 for the 18th annual Hollywood Film Awards.

The awards show will be hosted by Queen Latifah and broadcast live, for the first time, from the Hollywood Palladium on Nov. 14 (8 p.m. ET/delayed PT) on CBS.

Notable deletions from the awards list were support categories such as the Visual Effects Award, Producer Award, and Costume and Production Design Award. Also cut were the Spotlight Awards — given last year to Michael B. Jordan (“Fruitvale Station”), Sophie Nelisse (“The Book Thief”) and David Oyelowo (“The Butler”) — and the Legend Award, which previously went to Jerry Weintraub

The Hollywood Breakout Performance Award, which honored Jared Leto last year for his work in “Dallas Buyers Club,” was split into the Breakout Performance Actress and Actor Awards.

Added categories are the Blockbuster Award and Documentary Award.

The categories are:

  • Hollywood Career Achievement Award
  • Hollywood Film Award
  • Hollywood Director Award
  • Hollywood Actor Award
  • Hollywood Actress Award
  • Hollywood Supporting Actor Award
  • Hollywood Supporting Actress Award
  • Hollywood Ensemble Award
  • Hollywood Breakout Performance Actress Award
  • Hollywood Breakout Performance Actor Award
  • Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award
  • New Hollywood Award
  • Hollywood Screenwriter Award
  • Hollywood Song Award
  • Hollywood Animation Award
  • Hollywood Blockbuster Award
  • Hollywood Documentary Award
  • Hollywood Comedy Film Award

The Hollywood Film Awards, founded in 1997 by Carlos de Abreu is produced by dick clark productions.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.