A scene from "The Big Short." Image from official trailer
A scene from “The Big Short.” Image from official trailer

Screenwriters and authors behind the film “The Big Short” and authors and scriptwriters of the television miniseries “Show Me a Hero” were the top winners at the The Scripter Award ceremony Saturday at USC’s Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library.

Academy Award winners Helen Mirren and Taylor Hackford served as honorary dinner chairs.

The awards — established in 1988 — honors authors of printed works and the screenwriters who adapt their stories.

The other film nominees were:

  • Novelist Colm Tibn and screenwriter Nick Hornby for “Brooklyn.”
  • Screenwriter Donald Margulies for “The End of the Tour,” adapted from David Lipsky’s memoir “Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself: A Road Trip with David Foster Wallace.”
  • Novelist Andy Weir and screenwriter Drew Goddard for “The Martian.”
  • Emma Donoghue for the novel and screenplay of “Room.”

The other television nominees were:

  • Screenwriters David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, for the episode “Hardhome” from “Game of Thrones,” adapted from the fantasy series “A Song of Ice and Fire” by George R.R. Martin.
  • Damon Lindelof and Jacqueline Hoyt for the episode “Axis Mundi” from “The Leftovers,” based on the novel by Tom Perrotta.
  • Frank Spotnitz for the episode “The New World” from “The Man in the High Castle,” based on the novel by Philip K. Dick.
  • Michelle Ashford for the episode “Full Ten Count”from “Masters of Sex,” based on the biography by Thomas Maier, “Masters of Sex: The Life and Times of William Masters and Virginia Johnson, the Couple Who Taught America How to Love.”

— City News Service


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.