Photo via Wikimeida. 10 August 2016 Source
Photo via Wikimeida. 10 August 2016

“Moonlight” has been selected as the best movie of 2016 in voting by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association while Barry Jenkins was chosen best director for directing the film about three chapters in the life of a young black man.

“Moonlight” also won for best supporting actor for Mahershala Ali’s portrayal of a crack dealer and for James Laxton’s cinematography.

The romantic musical comedy-drama “La La Land” was the runner-up for best picture, best director (Damien Chazelle) and best cinematography (Linus Sandgren). It won for best music score, which was composed by Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul.

Adam Driver was chosen as best actor for his title role in “Paterson,” portraying a poetry-writing New Jersey bus driver. Casey Affleck was the runner-up for his portrayal of a man who becomes the sole guardian of his nephew (Lucas Hedges) in “Manchester by the Sea.”

Isabelle Huppert won for best actress for work in “Elle” and “Things to Come.” Rebecca Hall was the runner-up for her portrayal of a Florida television talk show host who committed suicide on the air in “Christine.”

The best supporting actress award went to Lily Gladstone for her role as a Montana ranch hand living in isolation during the winter in “Certain Women.” Michelle Williams was the runner-up for her portrayal of the ex-wife of Casey Affleck’s character in “Manchester by the Sea.”

The best screenplay award went to Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos for their script for the absurdist dystopian comedy-drama “The Lobster.” Kenneth Lonergan was the runner-up for “Manchester by the Sea.”

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association best picture winner has gone on to win the best picture Academy Award nine times since the group began giving awards for films made in 1975, including last year’s winner “Spotlight.”

Here is the list of winners and runners-ups from the Sunday announcement:

— Best picture, “Moonlight”; runner-up, “La La Land”;

— Best director, Barry Jenkins (“Moonlight”); runner-up, Damien Chazelle (“La La Land”);

— Best actor, Adam Driver (“Paterson”); runner-up, Casey Affleck (“Manchester by the Sea”);

— Best actress, Isabelle Huppert (“Elle” and “Things to Come”); runner-up, Rebecca Hall (“Christine”);

— Best supporting actor, Mahershala Ali (“Moonlight”); runner-up, Issey Ogata (“Silence”);

— Best supporting actress, Lily Gladstone (“Certain Women”); runner- up, Michelle Williams (“Manchester by the Sea”);

— Best screenplay, Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos (“The Lobster”); runner-up, Kenneth Lonergan (“Manchester by the Sea”);

— Best production design, Ryu Seong-Hee (“The Handmaiden”); runner- up, David Wasco (“La La Land”);

— Best editing, Bret Granato, Maya Mumma and Ben Sozanski (“OJ: Made in America”); runner-up, Tom Cross, (“La La Land”);

— Best cinematography, James Laxton (“Moonlight”); runner-up, Linus Sandgren (“La La Land”);

— Best music score, Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (“La La Land”); runner-up, Mica Levi (“Jackie”);

— Best foreign language film, “The Handmaiden”; runner-up, “Toni Erdmann”;

— Best documentary/nonfiction film, “I Am Not Your Negro”; runner-up, “OJ: Made in America”;

— Best animation, “Your Name”; runner-up, “The Red Turtle”;

— New generation, Trey Edward Shults and Krisha Fairchild, “Krisha”;

— Douglas Edwards independent/experimental film/video, “Deborah Stratman, The Illinois Parables”;

— Special citation, Turner Classic Movies for preserving historic cinema via Filmstruck;

— Career achievement, Shirley MacLaine

—City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.