Photo via YouTube
Photo via YouTube

Directors behind episodes of “Stranger Things,” “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story,” “Westworld” and “Game of Thrones” were nominated Wednesday for the Directors Guild of America Award for drama series directing.

For comedy series directing, DGA nominations went to directors of episodes of “Silicon Valley,” “Atlanta” and “Veep.”

Directors of “Madoff,” “Grease Live!,” “Hairspray Live!,” “All the Way” and “The Night Of” were nominated in the TV movies/miniseries category.

The DGA Awards will be presented Feb. 4 at the Beverly Hilton.

The guild’s nominees for feature film directing — which often mirror the Oscar nominations and ultimate winner — will be announced Thursday.

Here is a complete list of nominees: DRAMA SERIES

— Matt and Ross Duffer, “Stranger Things,” Chapter One: The Vanishing of Will Byers, Netflix

— Ryan Murphy, “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story,” From the Ashes of Tragedy, FX

— Jonathan Nolan, “Westworld,” The Original, HBO

— Miguel Sapochnik, “Game of Thrones,” The Battle of the Bastards, HBO

— John Singleton, “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story,” The Race Card, FX COMEDY SERIES

— Alec Berg, “Silicon Valley,” Daily Active Users, HBO

— Donald Glover, “Atlanta,” B.A.N., FX

— Mike Judge, “Silicon Valley,” Founder Friendly, HBO

— Becky Martin, “Veep,” Inauguration, HBO


— Raymond De Felitta, “Madoff,” ABC

— Thomas Kail (Directed By) and Alex Rudzinski (Live Television Direction By), “Grease Live!,” Fox

— Kenny Leon (Directed By) and Alex Rudzinski, (Live Television Direction By), “Hairspray Live!,” NBC

— Jay Roach, “All the Way,” HBO


— Paul G. Casey, “Real Time With Bill Maher,” Show #1437, HBO

— Nora Gerard, “CBS Sunday Morning,” Charles Osgood Farewell Broadcast, CBS

— Jim Hoskinson, “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert,” Episode #0179, CBS

— Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live,” Host: Dave Chappelle, NBC

— Paul Pennolino, “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee,” Episode #1030, TBS VARIETY/TALK/NEWS/SPORTS – SPECIALS

— Jerry Foley, “Tony Bennett Celebrates 90 – The Best is Yet to Come,” NBC

— Tim Mancinelli, “The Late Late Show with James Corden – The Late Late Show Carpool Karaoke Primetime Special,” CBS

— Linda Mendoza, “Smithsonian Salutes Ray Charles: In Performance at the White House,” PBS

— Paul Myers, “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee – A Very Special Full Frontal Special,” TBS

— Glenn Weiss, “The 70th Annual Tony Awards,” CBS REALITY PROGRAMS

— Ken Fuchs, “Shark Tank,” 801, ABC

— John Gonzalez, “Live PD,” Episode 5, A&E

— Brian Smith, “STRONG,” Welcome to STRONG, NBC

— J. Rupert Thompson, “American Grit,” The Finale, Over the Falls, Fox

— Bertram Van Munster, “The Amazing Race,” We’re Only Doing Freaky Stuff Wednesday, CBS CHILDREN’S PROGRAMS

— Liz Allen, “The Kicks,” Pilot, Amazon

— Alethea Jones, “Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street,” Gortimer and the Jacks of All Trades, Amazon

— Michael Lembeck, “A Nutcracker Christmas,” Hallmark Channel

— Tina Mabry, “An American Girl Story – Melody 1963: Love Has to Win,” Amazon

— John Schultz, “Adventures in Babysitting,” Disney Channel COMMERCIALS

— Lance Acord, “Frankie’s Holiday,” Apple – MAL; “Movie Night,” Kohl’s – Anomaly

— Dante Ariola, “Hold Your Breath,” SunTrust – Strawberry Frog; “Riding is the New Driving,” Lyft – Made Movement; “Tell Me When To Go,” Beats

— Fredrik Bond, “Dive,” Apple – TBWA/Media Arts Lab; “Everyday Hero,” Philips – Ogilvy & Mather; “World of Play,” LG – Energy BBDO

— Derek Cianfrance, “Chase,” Nike Golf – Wieden + Kennedy Portland; “Doubts,” Powerade – Wieden + Kennedy Portland; “Expectations,” Powerade – Wieden + Kennedy Portland; “Manifesto,” Squarespace – Anomaly

— AG Rojas, “The Best Planet,” S7 Airlines – Wieden + Kennedy Amsterdam; “The Snail,” Samsung – Leo Burnett USA DOCUMENTARY

— Otto Bell, “The Eagle Huntress”

— Ezra Edelman, “O.J.: Made in America”

— Josh Kriegman and Elyse Steinberg, “Weiner”

— Raoul Peck, “I Am Not Your Negro”

— Roger Ross Williams, “Life, Animated”

—City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.