Awards-season darlings “The Shape of Water,” “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” and “Call Me By Your Name” scored more accolades Friday, landing among the 11 nominees for the Producers Guild of America award for feature films.

Also nominated for the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures were the producers of “The Big Sick,” “Dunkirk,” “Get Out,” “I, Tonya,” “Lady Bird,” “Molly’s Game,” “The Post” and “Wonder Woman.”

For animated films, nominations went to producers of “The Boss Baby,” “Coco,” “Despicable Me 3,” “Ferdinand” and “The Lego Batman Movie.”

Documentary nominations went to producers of “Chasing Coral,” “City of Ghosts,” “Cries from Syria,” “Earth: One Amazing Day,” “Jane,” “Joshua: Teenager vs. Superpower” and “The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee.

The PGA’s motion picture award has historically been a strong indicator of which film will win the Oscar for best picture. Since the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences expanded from five to 10 nominees, no film had won the best picture Oscar without first winning the PGA Award — but that trend was bucked the last two years. In 2016, the PGA Award went to “The Big Short,” but the Oscar went to “Spotlight.” Last year, “La La Land” won the PGA honor, while the Academy honored “Moonlight.”

The 29th annual Producers Guild Awards will be presented Jan. 20 at the Beverly Hilton.

Here is a complete list of nominations:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

— “The Big Sick,” Producers: Judd Apatow, Barry Mendel

— “Call Me By Your Name,” Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Marco Morabito

— “Dunkirk,” Producers: Emma Thomas, Christopher Nolan

— “Get Out,” Producers: Sean McKittrick & Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jason Blum, Jordan Peele

— “I, Tonya,” Producers: Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley

— “Lady Bird,” Producers: Scott Rudin, Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill

— “Molly’s Game,” Producers: Mark Gordon, Amy Pascal, Matt Jackson

— “The Post,” Producers: Amy Pascal, Steven Spielberg, Kristie Macosko Krieger

— “The Shape Of Water,” Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale

— “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Producers: Graham Broadbent & Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh

— “Wonder Woman,” Producers: Charles Roven & Richard Suckle, Zack Snyder & Deborah Snyder

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

— “The Boss Baby,” Producer: Ramsey Naito

— “Coco,” Producer: Darla K. Anderson

— “Despicable Me 3,” Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy

— “Ferdinand,” Producers: Lori Forte, Bruce Anderson

— “The Lego Batman Movie,” Producers: Dan Lin, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures:

— “Chasing Coral,” Producers: Jeff Orlowski, Larissa Rhodes

— “City of Ghosts,” Producer: Matthew Heineman

— “Cries from Syria,” Producers: Evgeny Afineevsky, Den Tolmor, Aaron I. Butler

— “Earth: One Amazing Day,” Producer: Stephen McDonogh

— “Jane,” Producers: TBD

— “Joshua: Teenager vs. Superpower,” Producers: TBD

— “The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee,” Producers: Teddy Kunhardt, George Kunhardt

TELEVISION (Producers still being determined)

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:

— “Big Little Lies” (Season 1)

— “The Crown” (Season 2)

— “Game of Thrones” (Season 7)

— “The Handmaid’s Tale” (Season 1)

— “Stranger Things,” (Season 2)

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

— “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (Season 9)

— “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Season 1)

— “Master of None” (Season 2)

— “Silicon Valley” (Season 4)

— “Veep” (Season 6)

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:

— “Black Mirror,” (Season 4)

— “Fargo” (Season 3)

— “FEUD: Bette and Joan” (Season 1)

— “Sherlock: The Lying Detective”

— “The Wizard of Lies”

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

— “30 for 30” (Season 8)

— “60 Minutes” (Season 50)

— “Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” (Season 9, Season 10)

— “Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath” (Season 1, Season 2)

— “Spielberg”

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

— “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee” (Season 2)

— “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” (Season 15)

— “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” (Season 4)

— “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” (Season 3)

— “Saturday Night Live” (Season 43)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

— “The Amazing Race” (Season 29)

— “American Ninja Warrior” (Season 9)

— “Lip Sync Battle” (Season 3)

— “Top Chef” (Season 14)

— “The Voice” (Season 12, Season 13)

The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program:

— “Better Call Saul’s Los Pollos Hermanos Employee Training” (Season 1)

— “Carpool Karaoke” (Season 1)

— “Humans of New York: The Series” (Season 1)

— “National Endowment for the Arts: United States of Arts” (Season 3)

— “Viceland at the Women’s March” (Season 1)

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

— “All or Nothing: A Season with the Los Angeles Rams” (Season 2)

— “Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers” (Season 12)

— “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel” (Season 23)

— “SportsCenter with Scott Van Pelt” (Season 3)

— “VICE World of Sports” (Season 2)

The Award for Outstanding Children*s Program:

— “Doc McStuffins” (Season 4)

— “Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2017”

— “School of Rock” (Season 3)

— “Sesame Street” (Season 47)

— “SpongeBob SquarePants” (Season 10, Season 11)

–City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.