"Lady Bird" star Saoirse Ronan will be honored at the Palm Springs International Film Festival. Photo from A24/YouTube
A screen capture from the film “Lady Bird” starring actress Saoirse Ronan. Photo from A24/YouTube.

Hollywood’s awards season will focus on costumes Tuesday evening when the 20th Costume Designers Guild Awards are presented in Beverly Hills, with “Get Out,” “Lady Bird,” “The Greatest Showman” and “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” among the nominees.

Costume designers from “Get Out,” “Lady Bird” and “Three Billboards” are all nominated for the prize for contemporary film, along with those from “I, Tonya” and “Kingsman: The Golden Circle.”

For period films, nominees are “Dunkirk,” “The Greatest Showman,” “Murder on the Orient Express,” “Phantom Thread” and “The Shape of Water.”

For science-fiction/fantasy films, nominations went to “Beauty and the Beast,” “Blade Runner 2049,” “Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” “Thor: Ragnarok” and “Wonder Woman.”

The awards will be presented at the Beverly Hilton in a ceremony hosted by actress Gina Rodriguez. Oscar-nominated director Guillermo del Toro will be presented with a Distinguished Collaborator Award, while jeweler Maggie Schpak will receive a Distinguished Service Award.

Here is a complete list of nominees:

Excellence in Contemporary Film

— “Get Out,” Nadine Haders

— “I, Tonya,” Jennifer Johnson

— “Kingsman: The Golden Circle,” Arianne Phillips

— “Lady Bird,” April Napier

— “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Melissa Toth

Excellence in Period Film

— “Dunkirk,” Jeffrey Kurland

— “Murder on the Orient Express,” Alexandra Byrne

— “Phantom Thread,” Mark Bridges

— “The Greatest Showman,” Ellen Mirojnick

— “The Shape of Water,” Luis Sequeira

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

— “Beauty and the Beast,” Jacqueline Durran

— “Blade Runner 2049,” Renee April

— “Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” Michael Kaplan

— “Thor: Ragnarok,” Mayes C. Rubeo

— “Wonder Woman,” Lindy Hemming

Excellence in Contemporary Television

— “American Horror Story: Cult,” Sarah Evelyn Bram

— “Big Little Lies,” Alix Friedberg

— “Grace and Frankie,” Allyson B. Fanger

— “The Handmaid’s Tale,” Ane Crabtree

— “The Young Pope,” Luca Canfora, Carlo Poggioli

Excellence in Period Television

— “The Crown,” Jane Petrie

— “Feud: Bette and Joan,” Lou Eyrich

— “Glow,” Beth Morgan

— “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” Donna Zakowska

— “Stranger Things,” Kim Wilcox

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

— “Black Mirror: USS Callister,” Maja Meschede

— “Game of Thrones,” Michele Clapton

— “Once Upon a Time,” Eduardo Castro, Dan Lester

— “Sleepy Hollow,” Mairi Chisholm

— “Star Trek: Discovery,” Gersha Phillips

Excellence in Short Form Design

— Assassin’s Creed “I Am” Commercial, Patrik Milani

— Elton John, featuring Marilyn Manson: “Tiny Dancer” Music Video,Sara Sensoy, Dawn Ritz

— Katy Perry “Chained to the Rhythm” Music Video, B. Akerlund

— Miu Miu Women’s Tales #14: The End of History Illusion, Short Film, Mindy Le Brock

— P!NK “Beautiful Trauma” Music Video, Kim Bowen

—City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *