The Polish period drama “Cold War” took home the top prize for best cinematography in a motion picture with the Netflix series “The Crown” among the winners for television during the 33rd annual American Society of Cinematographers awards ceremony.

Actor Jeff Bridges was among those taking home honorary awards. He received the group’s Board of Governors Award “for his significant and indelible contributions to cinema.” It is the only award ASC gives to a person who is not a cinematographer, but who has been “a champion for directors of photography and the visual art form.”

The awards were handed out Saturday during a ceremony at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. Ben Mankiewicz of Turner Classic Movies was the host.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Theatrical Release Category

Lukasz Zal, “Cold War”

Spotlight Award Category

Giorgi Shvelidze for “Namme”

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

Adriano Goldman, “The Crown”

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

Jon Joffin, “Beyond”

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

James Friend, “Patrick Melrose”

Honorary awards included:

— Actor Jeff Bridges, Board of Governors Award for his significant and indelible contributions to cinema.

— Cinematographer Robert Richardson, Lifetime Achievement Award

— Cinematographer Jeffrey Jur, Career Achievement in Television Award

— Franz Kraus, ARRI Group managing director, Bud Stone Award of Distinction

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.