A statue of the late sportscaster Keith Jackson was unveiled Saturday outside the Rose Bowl, honoring him for calling the game a record 15 times on television.

The statue depicts Jackson standing and holding a microphone with the Rose Bowl logo. It is located in the Rose Plaza near the stadium’s south entrance.

The Rose Bowl Legacy Foundation, which raised funds for the statue, called Jackson “a symbol of togetherness and inspiration for sports fans across the globe.”

Jackson, who died Jan. 12, 2018, at age 89, is credited with dubbing the Rose Bowl “The Granddaddy of Them All.” It was first played in 1902 and is the oldest bowl game.

Jackson was selected for the game’s Hall of Fame in 1999. The Rose Bowl stadium’s broadcast center was renamed in his honor in 2015.

The statue is the third at the stadium, following ones of Baseball Hall of Famer Jackie Robinson, who played football for John Muir High School and Pasadena Junior College at the Rose Bowl, which was unveiled in 2017, and Brandi Chastain, unveiled in July in honor of her making the decisive penalty kick that gave the U.S. the 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup at the Rose Bowl.

Jackson was also the first play-by-play announcer on “Monday Night Football,” and announced 10 Olympics, three World Series, two NBA Finals, college basketball and auto racing during a 40-year career with ABC.

Jackson retired in 2006, three months after his final broadcast, Texas’ 41-38 victory over USC in the Rose Bowl, which served as that season’s national championship game.

Jackson’s honors include selection to the American Sportscasters Association Hall of Fame, National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame and Southern California Sports Broadcasters Hall of Fame.

The American Football Coaches Association awarded him its Amos Alonzo Stagg Award in 1993 as an individual “whose services have been outstanding in the advancement of the best interests of football.” He was the first sports announcer to receive the award.

Jackson was chosen as National Sportscaster of the Year five consecutive times by the National Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *