Leonardo DiCaprio in "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood."
Leonardo DiCaprio in “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.” Image from official trailer

The period films “Dolemite is My Name,” “Rocketman” and “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” are among the nominees for the 22nd Costume Designers Guild Awards, which will be presented Tuesday evening at the Beverly Hilton.

Costume designers for “Downton Abbey” and “Jojo Rabbit” round out the period film category for the awards.

Disney/Marvel films have all the nominations in the sci-fi/fantasy category, with nods going to costume designers for “Aladdin,” “Avengers: Endgame,” “Captain Marvel,” “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” and “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker.”

For contemporary films, nominees are the costume designers from “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood,” “Hustlers,” “Knives Out,” “The Laundromat” and “Queen & Slim.”

The awards will be presented in a ceremony hosted by actress/comedian Mindy Kaling. During the ceremony, actress Charlize Theron will receive the guild’s Spotlight Award, while director Adam McKay will receive the Distinguished Collaborator Award. Michael Kaplan will receive a career achievement award and costume designer Mary Ellen Fields will be presented with a distinguished service award.

Here is a complete list of nominees:

Excellence in Contemporary Film

“A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood,” Arjun Bhasin

“Hustlers,” Mitchell Travers

“Knives Out,” Jenny Eagan

“The Laundromat,” Ellen Mirojnick

“Queen & Slim,” Shiona Turini

Excellence in Period Film

“Dolemite is My Name,” Ruth E. Carter

“Downton Abbey,” Anna Mary Scott Robbins

“Jojo Rabbit,” Mayes C. Rubeo

“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” Arianne Phillips

“Rocketman,” Julian Day

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

“Aladdin,” Michael Wilkinson

“Avengers: Endgame,” Judianna Makovsky

“Captain Marvel,” Sanja M. Hays

“Maleficent: Mistress of Evil,” Ellen Mirojnick

“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker,” Michael Kaplan

Excellence in Contemporary Television

“Big Little Lies,” “She Knows,” Alix Friedberg

“Fleabag,” “2.1,” Ray Holman

“Killing Eve,” “Desperate Times,” Charlotte Mitchell

“Russian Doll,” “Superiority Complex,” Jennifer Rogien

“Schitt’s Creek,” “The Dress,” Debra Hanson

Excellence in Period Television

“Chernobyl,” “Please Remain Calm,” Odile Dicks-Mireaux

“The Crown,” “Cri De Coeur,” Amy Roberts

“Fosse/Verdon,” “Life is a Cabaret,” Melissa Toth & Joseph La Corte

“GLOW,” “Freaky Tuesday,” Beth Morgan

“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “It’s Comedy or Cabbage,” Donna Zakowska

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

“Carnival Row,” “Aisling,” Joyce Schure

“Game of Thrones,” “The Iron Throne,” Michele Clapton

“The Handmaid’s Tale,” “Household,” Natalie Bronfman

“A Series of Unfortunate Events,” “Penultimate Peril: Part 2,” Cynthia Summers

“Watchmen,” “It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice,” Sharen Davis

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

“Dancing with the Stars,” “First Elimination,” Daniella Gschwendtner & Steven Norman Lee

“The Late Late Show with James Corden,” “Crosswalk the Musical: Aladdin,” Lauren Shapiro

“The Masked Singer,” “Season Finale: And the Winner Takes It All and Takes It Off,” Marina Toybina

“RuPaul’s Drag Race,” “Whatcha Unpackin?,” Zaldy for RuPaul

“Saturday Night Live,” “Sandra Oh / Tame Impala,” Tom Broecker & Eric Justian

Excellence in Short Form Design

Katy Perry: “Small Talk” music video – Phoenix Mellow

Kohler Verdera Voice Smart Mirror: “Mirror, Mirror” commercial – Ami Goodheart

Lil Nas X: “Old Town Road” music video – Catherine Hahn

Madonna: “God Control” music video – B. Akerlund

United Airlines: “Star Wars Wing Walker” commercial – Christopher Lawrence

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *