“Nomadland” director Chloé Zhao padded her Oscar credentials Saturday evening with yet another honor — the Directors Guild of America award for feature film.

She becomes just the second woman to win the DGA’s top prize, following Kathryn Bigelow, who won for 2008’s “The Hurt Locker.” Bigelow went on to win the Oscar for Best Director that year.

Zhao has already won Golden Globe and Critics Choice awards for her work on “Nomadland,” and winning the DGA Award would almost cement an Academy Awards victory at the end of the month.

Since 1948, there have only been eight times that the winner of the DGA award for feature film directing has not gone on to win the Oscar for best director. The most recent time was last year, when Sam Mendes won the DGA Award for “1917,” but the Oscar went to Bong Joon Ho for “Parasite.”

On the small screen, Lesli Linka Glatter took home the prize for “Homeland” in the dramatic category, while Susanna Fogel won for “The Flight Attendant.”

The DGA Awards were presented in a virtual ceremony.

Here is a complete list of winners:

Feature Film

— Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland”

First-Time Feature Film

— Darius Marder, “Sound of Metal”


— Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw, “The Truffle Hunters”

Dramatic Series

— Lesli Linka Glatter, “Homeland”

Comedy Series

— Susanna Fogel, “The Flight Attendant”

Movies for Television and Limited Series

— Scott Frank, “The Queen’s Gambit”

Vartiety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

— Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live”

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials

— Thomas Schlamme, “A West Wing Special to Benefit When We All Vote”

Reality Programs

— Joseph Guidry, “Full Bloom”

Children’s Programs

— Amy Schatz, “We Are the Dream: The Kids of the Oakland MLK Oratorical Fest”


— Melina Matsoukas: You Love Me, Beats by Dr. Dre

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.