mandy walker
Mandy Walker - PHoto courtesy of Kathy Hutchins on shutterstock

Mandy Walker is being celebrated Monday by the American Society of Cinematographers for her work on “Elvis” as the first woman to win an ASC Award in the feature film category.

Walker won the award at the 37th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards ceremony at the Beverly Hilton on Sunday night. It was Walker’s first nomination in the awards ceremony.

Sturla Brandth Grovlen won in the Spotlight Award category for her work on “War Sailor” and Ben Bernhard and Riju Das won an award for their work on the documentary “All That Breathes.”

In the television categories, M. David Mullen was honored for his work on “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” Sean Porter for his work on “The Old Man,” Jules O’Loughlin for “The Old Man” and Carl Herse for “Barry.”

Below is the complete list of winners and nominees:

THEATRICAL FEATURE FILM (presented by Hong Chau) Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Empire of Light (Searchlight Pictures) Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for The Batman (Warner Bros.) Darius Khondji, ASC, AFC for Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths (Netflix) Claudio Miranda, ASC for Top Gun: Maverick (Paramount Pictures) Mandy Walker, ASC, ACS for Elvis (Warner Bros.) WINNER (Category sponsored by Keslow Camera)

SPOTLIGHT AWARD (presented by Lawrence Sher, ASC) Sturla Brandth Grovlen, DFF for War Sailor (DCM Film) WINNER Kate McCullough, ISC for The Quiet Girl (Super) Andrew Wheeler for God’s Country (IFC Films) (Category sponsored by Panavision)

EPISODE OF A ONE-HOUR NON-COMMERCIAL TELEVISION SERIES (presented by Jabari Banks) John Conroy, ASC, ISC for Westworld “Années Folles” (HBO/HBO MAX) Catherine Goldschmidt for House of the Dragon “The Lord of the Tides” (HBO/HBO MAX) Alejandro Martinez for House of the Dragon “The Green Council” (HBO/HBO MAX) M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel “How Do You Get to Carnegie Hall?” (Prime Video) WINNER Alex Nepomniaschy, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel “Everything is Bellmore” (Prime Video) Nikolaus Summerer for 1899 “The Calling” (Netflix) (Category sponsored by Panavision)

PILOT, LIMITED SERIES, OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION (presented by Mckenna Grace) Todd Banhazl, ASC for Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty “The Swan” (HBO/HBO Max) Jeremy Benning, CSC for Guillermo del Toro’s Cabinet of Curiosities “The Outside” (Netflix) Anastas Michos, ASC, GSC for Guillermo del Toro’s Cabinet of Curiosities “The Autopsy” (Netflix) C. Kim Miles, ASC, CSC, MySC for Lost Ollie “Bali Hai” (Netflix) Sean Porter for The Old Man “I” (FX) WINNER (Category sponsored by Arri)

EPISODE OF A HALF-HOUR SERIES (presented by Roselyn Sánchez and Harry Shum Jr.) Adam Bricker for Hacks “The Click” (HBO/HBO MAX) Carl Herse for Barry “Starting Now” (HBO/HBO MAX) WINNER Stephen Murphy BSC, ISC for Atlanta “New Jazz” (FX) Ula Pontikos, BSC for Russian Doll “Matryoshka” (Netflix) Christian Sprenger, ASC for Atlanta “Andrew Wyeth. Alfred’s World.” (FX) (Category sponsored by Picture Shop) EPISODE OF A ONE-HOUR COMMERCIAL TELEVISION SERIES (presented by Melissa Rauch) Marshall Adams, ASC for Better Call Saul “Saul Gone” (AMC) Jesse M. Feldman for Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire “Is My Very Nature That of the Devil” (AMC) Christian “Tico” Herrera, CCR for Snowfall “Departures” (FX) Jules O’Loughlin, ASC, ACS for The Old Man “IV” (FX) WINNER Jaime Reynoso, AMC for Snowpiercer “Bound by One Track” (TNT) (Category sponsored by William F. White)

DOCUMENTARY AWARD (presented by S.S. Rajamouli & M.M. Keeravani) Ben Bernhard and Riju Das for All That Breathes (HBO/HBO Max) WINNER Adam Bricker for Chef’s Table: Pizza “Franco Pepe” (Netflix) Wolfgang Held, ASC for This Stolen Country of Mine (Category sponsored by Creamsource) Mullen is the only winner who has been previously nominated for an ASC Award. This was his fourth nomination for the Marvelous Mrs. Maisel and his first win.

Honorary awards at the ceremony included Viola Davis receiving the ASC Board of Governors Award (presented by Gina Prince-Bythewood) and Stephen Goldblatt was bestowed the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award (presented by Octavia Spencer). Darius Khondji was awarded the ASC International Award (presented by Alejandro G. Iñárritu), and Fred Murphy, ASC was honored with the ASC Career Achievement in Television Award (presented by Jake Gyllenhaal). Charlie Lieberman received the Presidents Award (presented by John Simmons, ASC) and Sam Nicholson took home the Curtis Clark ASC Technical Achievement Award (presented by Stephen Lighthill and sponsored by Unreal Engine). The Bud Stone Award was given to FotoKem’s Mike Broderson and Mark Van Horne (presented by Richard Crudo, ASC).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *