Still of Ellar Coltrane in ‘Boyhood.’ Photo courtesy of IFC Films
Still of Ellar Coltrane in ‘Boyhood.’ Photo courtesy of IFC Films

“Boyhood” was selected Sunday as the best movie of 2014 in voting by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association and also won for best director (Richard Linklater), best actress (Patricia Arquette) and best editing (Sandra Adair).

Tom Hardy was chosen as best actor for his title role in “Locke,” a drama about a British construction foreman’s drive to London after learning the colleague he had a one-night stand with seven months earlier has gone into premature labor.

Michael Keaton was the runner-up for his portrayal of a washed-up actor seeking to reinvent his career in “Birdman.”

The best supporting actor award went to J.K. Simmons (“Whiplash”) with Edward Norton (“Birdman”) the runner-up.

Agata Kulesza was selected as best supporting actress for her portrayal of the aunt of a novice nun (Agata Trzebuchowska) in the Polish drama “Ida,” which was selected as the best foreign-language film. Rene Russo (“Nightcrawler”) was the runner-up.

Wes Anderson won for best screenplay for his script for “The Grand Budapest Hotel.” Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr. and Armando Bo were the runners-up for their script for “Birdman.”

Anderson was the runner-up for best director for “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” the runner-up for best picture.

“The Grand Budapest Hotel” also won for best production design (Adam Stockhausen).

Ava Duvernay, the director of the civil rights era drama “Selma,” won the new generation award. Actress Gena Rowlands was selected for the career achievement award.

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association best picture winner has gone on to win the best picture Academy Award eight times since the group began giving awards for films made in 1975.

The most recent double winner was the 2009 Iraq War drama “The Hurt Locker.” Before that, the association’s best picture winner had failed to repeat at the Academy Awards for 15 consecutive years.

Both of last year’s critics’ co-winners, “Gravity” and “Her” received best picture nominations, but lost to “12 Years a Slave” on Oscar night.

The other winners were:

  • Best cinematography — “Birdman”;
  • Best music score — “Inherent Vice” and “Under the Skin”;
  • Best documentary/nonfiction film, “Citizenfour”;
  • Best animation, “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya”; and
  • Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video, Walter Reuben, “The David Whiting Story.”

— City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.