Matt Damon in 'The Martina.' Photo via Aidan Monaghan/Twentieth Century Fox
Matt Damon in ‘The Martina.’ Photo via Aidan Monaghan/Twentieth Century Fox

Screenwriters and authors behind the films “The Big Short,” “The Martian,” “Brooklyn,” “The End of the Tour” and “Room” were nominated Thursday for the USC Libraries’ Scripter Award.

For the first time, USC Libraries have expanded to award to also present an honor for television, with nominations going to authors and scriptwriters for episodes of “Game of Thrones,” “The Leftovers,” “The Man in the High Castle,” “Masters of Sex” and the miniseries “Show Me a Hero.”

The Scripter Award, established in 1988, honors authors of printed works and the screenwriters who adapt their stories.

The awards for film and television will be presented Feb. 20 at a ceremony at USC’s Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. Academy Award winners Helen Mirren and Taylor Hackford will serve as honorary dinner chairs.

The film nominees are:

— screenwriters Adam McKay and Charles Randolph for “The Big Short,” adapted from Michael Lewis’ nonfiction work “The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine”;

— novelist Colm Tibn and screenwriter Nick Hornby for “Brooklyn”;

— screenwriter Donald Margulies for “The End of the Tour,” adapted from David Lipsky’s memoir “Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself: A Road Trip with David Foster Wallace”;

— novelist Andy Weir and screenwriter Drew Goddard for “The Martian”; and

— Emma Donoghue for the novel and screenplay of “Room.”

For television series, the nominations are:

— screenwriters David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, for the episode “Hardhome” from “Game of Thrones,” adapted from the fantasy series “A Song of Ice and Fire” by George R.R. Martin;

— Damon Lindelof and Jacqueline Hoyt for the episode “Axis Mundi” from “The Leftovers,” based on the novel by Tom Perrotta;

— Frank Spotnitz for the episode “The New World” from “The Man in the High Castle,” based on the novel by Philip K. Dick;

— Michelle Ashford for the episode “Full Ten Count”from “Masters of Sex,” based on the biography by Thomas Maier, “Masters of Sex: The Life and Times of William Masters and Virginia Johnson, the Couple Who Taught America How to Love”; and

— screenwriters William F. Zorzi and David Simon for the miniseries “Show Me a Hero,” based on the nonfiction book by Lisa Belkin.

—Staff and wire reports

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *