A scene from "La La Land." Image from official trailer
A scene from “La La Land.” Image from official trailer

The directors of “La La Land,” “Lion,” “Moonlight,” “Manchester by the Sea” and “Arrival” will compete Saturday night for the Directors Guild of America Award for feature films, an honor that is a traditionally strong predictor of who will win the Oscar.

Since 1948, there have only been seven times that the winner of the DGA Award for feature film directing has not gone on to win the Academy Award for best director. The most recent time was 2013 when Ben Affleck won the DGA Award for “Argo,” but wasn’t even nominated for a directing Academy Award, even though the film won the Oscar for best picture.

Nominated for the feature film honor are Damien Chazelle for “La La Land,” Garth Davis for “Lion,” Barry Jenkins for “Moonlight,” Kenneth Lonergan for “Manchester by the Sea” and Denis Villeneuve for “Arrival.”

The nominations are the first DGA nods for Chazelle, Jenkins, Lonergan and Villeneuve. Davis was nominated in 2009 for directing a U.S. Cellular commercial.

Chazelle, Jenkins, Lonergan and Villeneuve have all been nominated for the best-director Oscar. Davis was left off the list in favor of Mel Gibson for “Hacksaw Ridge.”

Davis is nominated for the DGA award for first-time feature film directing for “Lion.” Also nominated in the category are Kelly Fremon Craig for  “The Edge of Seventeen,” Tim Miller for “Deadpool,” Nate Parker for “Birth of a Nation” and Dan Trachtenberg for “10 Cloverfield  Lane.”

On the small screen, directors behind episodes of “Stranger Things,” “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story,” “Westworld” and “Game of Thrones” are nominated for drama series directing.

For comedy series directing, DGA nominees are directors of episodes of “Silicon Valley,” “Atlanta” and “Veep.”

Directors of “Madoff,” “Grease Live!,” “Hairspray Live!,” “All the Way” and “The Night Of” are nominated in the TV movies/miniseries category.

The DGA Awards will be presented at the Beverly Hilton. During the ceremony, director Ridley Scott will receive the guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Achievement in Motion Picture Direction.

Here is a complete list of nominees: FEATURE FILM

— Damien Chazelle, “La La Land”

— Garth Davis, “Lion”

— Barry Jenkins, “Moonlight”

— Kenneth Lonergan, “Manchester by the Sea”

— Denis Villeneuve, “Arrival.” FIRST-TIME FEATURE FILM

— Garth Davis, “Lion”

— Kelly Fremon Craig, “The Edge of Seventeen”

— Tim Miller, “Deadpool”

— Nate Parker, “Birth of a Nation”

— Dan Trachtenberg, “10 Cloverfield  Lane.” DRAMA SERIES

— Matt and Ross Duffer, “Stranger Things,” Chapter One: The Vanishing of Will Byers, Netflix

— Ryan Murphy, “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story,” From the Ashes of Tragedy, FX

— Jonathan Nolan, “Westworld,” The Original, HBO

— Miguel Sapochnik, “Game of Thrones,” The Battle of the Bastards, HBO

— John Singleton, “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story,” The Race Card, FX COMEDY SERIES

— Alec Berg, “Silicon Valley,” Daily Active Users, HBO

— Donald Glover, “Atlanta,” B.A.N., FX

— Mike Judge, “Silicon Valley,” Founder Friendly, HBO

— Becky Martin, “Veep,” Inauguration, HBO


— Raymond De Felitta, “Madoff,” ABC

— Thomas Kail (Directed By) and Alex Rudzinski (Live Television Direction By), “Grease Live!,” Fox

— Kenny Leon (Directed By) and Alex Rudzinski, (Live Television Direction By), “Hairspray Live!,” NBC

— Jay Roach, “All the Way,” HBO


— Paul G. Casey, “Real Time With Bill Maher,” Show #1437, HBO

— Nora Gerard, “CBS Sunday Morning,” Charles Osgood Farewell Broadcast, CBS

— Jim Hoskinson, “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert,” Episode #0179, CBS

— Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live,” Host: Dave Chappelle, NBC

— Paul Pennolino, “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee,” Episode #1030, TBS VARIETY/TALK/NEWS/SPORTS – SPECIALS

— Jerry Foley, “Tony Bennett Celebrates 90 – The Best is Yet to Come,” NBC

— Tim Mancinelli, “The Late Late Show with James Corden – The Late Late Show Carpool Karaoke Primetime Special,” CBS

— Linda Mendoza, “Smithsonian Salutes Ray Charles: In Performance at the White House,” PBS

— Paul Myers, “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee – A Very Special Full Frontal Special,” TBS

— Glenn Weiss, “The 70th Annual Tony Awards,” CBS REALITY PROGRAMS

— Ken Fuchs, “Shark Tank,” 801, ABC

— John Gonzalez, “Live PD,” Episode 5, A&E

— Brian Smith, “STRONG,” Welcome to STRONG, NBC

— J. Rupert Thompson, “American Grit,” The Finale, Over the Falls, Fox

— Bertram Van Munster, “The Amazing Race,” We’re Only Doing Freaky Stuff Saturday, CBS CHILDREN’S PROGRAMS

— Liz Allen, “The Kicks,” Pilot, Amazon

— Alethea Jones, “Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street,” Gortimer and the Jacks of All Trades, Amazon

— Michael Lembeck, “A Nutcracker Christmas,” Hallmark Channel

— Tina Mabry, “An American Girl Story – Melody 1963: Love Has to Win,” Amazon

— John Schultz, “Adventures in Babysitting,” Disney Channel COMMERCIALS

— Lance Acord, “Frankie’s Holiday,” Apple – MAL; “Movie Night,” Kohl’s – Anomaly

— Dante Ariola, “Hold Your Breath,” SunTrust – Strawberry Frog; “Riding is the New Driving,” Lyft – Made Movement; “Tell Me When To Go,” Beats

— Fredrik Bond, “Dive,” Apple – TBWA/Media Arts Lab; “Everyday Hero,” Philips – Ogilvy & Mather; “World of Play,” LG – Energy BBDO

— Derek Cianfrance, “Chase,” Nike Golf – Wieden + Kennedy Portland; “Doubts,” Powerade – Wieden + Kennedy Portland; “Expectations,” Powerade – Wieden + Kennedy Portland; “Manifesto,” Squarespace – Anomaly

— AG Rojas, “The Best Planet,” S7 Airlines – Wieden + Kennedy Amsterdam; “The Snail,” Samsung – Leo Burnett USA DOCUMENTARY

— Otto Bell, “The Eagle Huntress”

— Ezra Edelman, “O.J.: Made in America”

— Josh Kriegman and Elyse Steinberg, “Weiner”

— Raoul Peck, “I Am Not Your Negro”

— Roger Ross Williams, “Life, Animated”

—City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.