Costume designers on films including “Black Panther,” “A Star is Born” and “Crazy Rich Asians” were among those nominated Thursday for the 21st annual Costume Designers Guild Awards.

“A Star is Born” and “Crazy Rich Asians” were nominated in the contemporary film category, along with “Ocean’s 8,” “Widows” and “Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again.”

“Black Panther” earned a nod in the sci-fi/fantasy category, which also includes “Aquaman,” “A Wrinkle in Time,” “Avengers: Infinity War” and “The Nutcracker and the Four Realms.”

For period films, nominations went to costume designers for “BlacKkKlansman,” “The Favourite,” “Bohemian Rhapsody,” “Mary Poppins Returns” and “Mary Queen of Scots.”

The awards will be handed out during a Feb. 19 ceremony at the Beverly Hilton.

Costume designer Ruth Carter will receive a lifetime achievement award during the event, while writer/producer Ryan Murphy will receive a Distinguished Collaborator honor.

Here is a complete list of nominees:

Excellence in Contemporary Film

“A Star Is Born,” Erin Benach

“Crazy Rich Asians,” Mary E. Vogt

“Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again,” Michele Clapton

“Ocean’s 8,” Sarah Edwards

“Widows,” Jenny Eagan

Excellence in Period Film

“BlacKkKlansman,” Marci Rodgers

“Bohemian Rhapsody,” Julian Day

“The Favourite,” Sandy Powell

“Mary Poppins Returns,” Sandy Powell

“Mary Queen of Scots,” Alexandra Byrne

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

“A Wrinkle in Time,” Paco Delgado

“Aquaman,” Kym Barrett

“The Avengers: Infinity War,” Judianna Makovsky

“Black Panther,” Ruth E. Carter

“The Nutcracker and the Four Realms,” Jenny Beavan

Excellence in Contemporary Television

“The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story,” Lou Eyrich & Allison Leach

“Grace and Frankie,” Allyson B. Fanger

“The Romanoffs,” Janie Bryant & Wendy Chuck

“Sharp Objects,” Alix Friedberg

“This Is Us,” Hala Bahmet

Excellence in Period Television

“The Alienist,” Michael Kaplan

“Glow,” Beth Morgan

“The Man in the High Castle,” Catherine Adair

“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” Donna Zakowska

“Outlander,” Nina Ayres & Terry Dresbach

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

“American Horror Story: Apocalypse,” Paula Bradley & Lou Eyrich

“The Handmaid’s Tale,” Ane Crabtree

“Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events,” Cynthia Summers

“Star Trek: Discovery,” Gersha Phillips

“Westworld,” Sharen Davis

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

“Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert,” Paul Tazewell

“The Late Late Show with James Corden,” Lauren Shapiro

“RuPaul’s Drag Race,” Zaldy Goco

“Saturday Night Live,” Tom Broecker & Eric Justian

“So You Think You Can Dance,” Marina Toybina

Excellence in Short Form Design

Adidas: “See My Creativity” commercial,” Bonnie Stauch

Childish Gambino: “This is America” music video,” Natasha Newman-Thomas

“Elton John – Farewell Yellow Brick Road: The Legacy” short film, Charlie Altuna

Justin Timberlake: “Supplies” Directed by Dave Myers, music video, Ami Goodhart

Nespresso: “The Quest” commercial,” Jenny Eagan

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *