ABC’s venerable soap “General Hospital” collected a leading 23 nominations Thursday for the 47th annual Daytime Emmy Awards, followed closely by NBC’s “Days of Our Lives” with 22 and CBS’ “The Young and the Restless” with 21.

The three soaps will compete for outstanding drama series, along with CBS’ “The Bold and the Beautiful.”

The Daytime Emmy Awards will be presented June 26 in a virtual ceremony, with award winners and other guests accepting prizes from their homes due to the coronavirus pandemic. The two-hour awards show will be broadcast on CBS.

Finola Hughes and Maura West of “General Hospital” are both nominated for best actress in a drama series, as are Katherine Kelly Lang and Heather Tom of “The Bold and the Beautiful” and Arianne Zucker of “Days of Our Lives.”

For lead actor, nominations went to Steve Burton and Jon Lindstrom of “General Hospital,” Thorsten Kaye of “The Bold and the Beautiful,” Thaao Penghlis of “Days of Our Lives” and Jason Thompson of “The Young and the Restless.”

On the cooking show front, four Food Network personalities were nominated for outstanding culinary host: Valerie Bertinelli for “Valerie’s Home Cooking,” Giada De Laurentiis for “Giada Entertains,” Ina Garten for “Barefoot Contessa: Cook Like a Pro” and Rachael Ray for “30 Minute Meals.” Rounding out the category is Frankie Celenza for Tastemade’s “Struggle Meals.”

Alex Trebek, who has been waging a public battle against pancreatic cancer, was nominated for outstanding game show host for his work on “Jeopardy!” Also nominated were Wayne Brady for “Let’s Make a Deal,” Steve Harvey for “Family Feud,” Alfonso Ribeiro for “Catch 21” and Pat Sajak for “Wheel of Fortune.”

The women of “The View” — Whoopi Goldberg, Joy Behar, Sunny Hostin, Meghan McCain, Abby Huntsman and Ana Navarro — were among the nominees for outstanding informative talk show host. Also vying in the category will be Tamron Hall for “Tamron Hall,” Larry King for “Larry King Now,” Hoda Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager for “Today Show with Hoda & Jenna” and Jada Pinkett Smith, Willow Smith and Adrienne Banfield-Norris of “Red Table Talk.”

For entertainment talk show host, nominations went to Michael Strahan, Sara Haines and Keke Palmer for “GMA2 Strahan, Sara & Keke”; Kelly Clarkson for “The Kelly Clarkson Show”; Kelly Ripa and Ryan Seacrest for “Live with Kelly and Ryan”; Maury Povich for “Maury”; and Sara Gilbert, Sharon Osbourne, Sheryl Underwood, Eve, Carrie Ann Inaba and Marie Osmond for “The Talk.”

“The Talk,” “Live with Kelly and Ryan,” “The Kelly Clarkson Show,” “GMA3 Strahan, Sara & Keke” and “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” were all nominated for outstanding entertainment talk show.

Outstanding informative talk show nominations went to “The 3rd Hour of Today,” “Rachael Ray,” “Red Table Talk,” “Today Show with Hoda & Jenna” and “The View.”

Nominated for outstanding morning show were “CBS Sunday Morning,” “CBS This Morning,” ABC’s “Good Morning America” and NBC’s “Sunday Today with Willie Geist” and “Today Show.”

A complete list of nominations is available online at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.