Writer-director-producer Ryan Murphy, the creator of such television programs as “American Horror Story,” “American Crime Story,” “Glee,” “Popular” and “Nip/Tuck,” will receive the Cinematic Imagery Award from the Art Directors Guild, it was announced Tuesday.

The award “is given to those whose body of work in the film and television industry has richly enhanced the visual aspects of the viewer’s experience,” according to the guild.

Previous recipients include Chuck Lorre, Steven Spielberg, Christopher Nolan, Martin Scorsese, John Lasseter, George Lucas, Warren Beatty, Clint Eastwood, Blake Edwards and the production designers behind the James Bond franchise.

“Ryan Murphy is a visionary whose impact spans a wide spectrum of film, television and streaming projects, all the while creating memorable, visual storytelling experiences as one of Hollywood’s most prolific and successful writers-directors-producers,” said ADG President Nelson Coates.

“His imagination and consistent emphasis on high production values have fostered the creation of worlds that will have lasting impact on the visual lexicon of entertainment for years to come,” Coates said. “He personifies the very concept of cinematic imagery. The ADG is thrilled to recognize Murphy’s tremendous contributions to the art of narrative design.”

Murphy’s TV credits include “Hollywood,” “Feud,” “The New Normal,” “Scream Queens,” “9-1-1,” “Ratched,” “The Politician” and “Pose,” featuring the largest transgender series regular cast and the largest LGBTQ cast ever for a scripted series.

He directed “The Normal Heart,” an Emmy Award-winning HBO film which chronicled the story of the onset of the AIDS crisis in New York.

In 2016, Murphy’s first installment of “American Crime Story,” “The People vs O.J. Simpson,” won 10 Emmy Awards, including Outstanding Limited Series. The second installment, “The Assassination of Gianni Versace,” won seven Emmys.

On the big screen, Murphy’s credits include “Running with Scissors,” starring Annette Bening and Gwyneth Paltrow; “Eat, Pray, Love,” starring Julia Roberts and Javier Bardem; and “The Prom,” starring Meryl Streep, Nicole Kidman and James Corden.

On the stage, he produced the Tony Award-winning Broadway hit “The Boys in the Band,” starring Jim Parsons, Zachary Quinto and Matt Bomer.

Nominations for the 25th annual Art Directors Guild’s Excellence in Production Design Awards will be announced Feb. 25, and winners will be announced at a virtual ceremony on April 10.

The ADG represents 2,700 members who work throughout the world in film, television and theater as production designers and art directors; scenic, title and graphic artists; set designers and model makers; and illustrators and matte artists.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.