Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti and a coalition of bipartisan mayors from all 50 states signed a letter Tuesday to urge Congress to adopt President Joe Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Framework, which would fund infrastructure projects with $1.2 trillion over eight years.

“This framework would be the largest long-term investment in our nation’s infrastructure and competitiveness in nearly a century — $1.2 trillion over eight years — to help make our economy more sustainable, resilient, and just,” the U.S. Conference of Mayors said in the letter, which was signed by 369 mayors.

“The Bipartisan Infrastructure Framework is crucial to making meaningful progress on one of the most pressing and unifying challenges facing our country — the need for comprehensive investment in public transportation; roads; bridges; passenger and freight rail; drinking water and wastewater; clean energy and electrification; legacy pollution cleanup; cyber-attack and extreme weather-resiliency; and universal broadband access,” the letter continued. “Thus, we believe that this framework deserves bipartisan support in the United States Senate and the United States House of Representatives.”

If adopted, the plan would modernize and expand transit and rail networks to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and improve sustainable transportation options.

It would also repair and rebuild roads and bridges, build a national network of electric vehicle charges along highways and in rural and disadvantaged communities, electrify school and transit buses, connect every American with high-speed internet, upgrade the nation’s power infrastructure, create an Infrastructure Financing Authority, and eliminate lead service lines and pipes to deliver clean drinking water.

Along with Garcetti, the letter was signed by:

— Pasadena Mayor Victor Gordo;

— Santa Monica Mayor Sue Himmelrich;

— Long Beach Mayor Robert Garcia;

— Beverly Hills Mayor Robert Wunderlich;

— Carson Mayor Lula Davis-Holmes;

— Industry Mayor Cory Moss;

— El Monte Mayor Jessica Ancona;

— Glendora Mayor Karen Davis;

— Irvine Mayor Farrah Khan;

— Lakewood Mayor Jeff Wood;

— Lynwood Mayor Marisela Santana;

— Paramount Mayor Brenda Olmos;

— Santa Ana Mayor Vicente Sarmiento;

— South Gate Mayor Al Rios;

— Torrance Mayor Patrick Furey;

— West Hollywood Mayor Lindsay Horvath.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.