The Lott IMPACT Trophy, awarded to college football’s defensive player of the year based on character and performance, will be presented Sunday in Newport Beach, with Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson, the runner-up in voting for the Heisman Trophy, among the four finalists.

The other finalists are Utah linebacker Devin Lloyd and two Georgia teammates, nose tackle Jordan Davis and linebacker Nakobe Dean. All the finalists are seniors, except for Dean, a junior.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy is the first college football award to give equal weight to personal character as well as athletic performance from a defensive player and the first national college football award based on the West Coast. It has been presented annually since 2004.

Past recipients include J.J. Watt and Manti Te’o.

IMPACT is an acronym for integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community and tenacity. The traits are based on the attributes of the award’s namesake, Ronnie Lott.

Lott played safety for USC from 1977-80 and for four NFL teams from 1981-1995. He was selected to both the college and professional football halls of fame.

The general scholarship fund of the winner’s university will receive a $25,000 donation, while the other three finalists’ schools will each receive $5,000 from the IMPACT Foundation, which recognizes and supports national and local charities serving youths.

The ceremony will be held at The Pacific Club.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.