Photo by John Schreiber.
Photo by John Schreiber.

Davan Maharaj, the editor of the Los Angeles Times, was named publisher as well.

Maharaj’s promotion to the newly created position of publisher and editor in chief is part of a broader reorganization of  Tribune Publishing Co. by its new chairman, Michael W. Ferro Jr.

Editors will become publishers at The Times, the Union-Tribune in San Diego, the Chicago Tribune, the Baltimore Sun, the Hartford Courant, the Orlando Sentinel, the South Florida Sun-Sentinel, the Morning Call in Allentown, Pennsylvania, and the Daily Press in Virginia.

Eliminating a layer of publishers will reduce costs. A Tribune news release Tuesday also said editors “are in the unique position of understanding their local communities, having the trust of their readers and maintaining the highest standards of journalistic integrity while implementing key initiatives that drive the business forward.”

As part of the companywide restructuring, the publishers of Tribune newspapers are leaving the company. An exception is Timothy E. Ryan, publisher of The Times for the last six months. He will become Tribune’s president of publishing, overseeing newspapers other than The Times, and both he and Maharaj will report to Tribune Publishing’s new chief executive, Justin Dearborn.

Maharaj, 53, has been Times editor since December 2011. As the 16th publisher in the newspaper’s 134-year history, he will now also take command of its business operations.

—Staff and wire reports

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.