The Los Angeles Dodgers won their first World Series championship since 1988 Tuesday evening, defeating the Tampa Bay Rays, 3-1, to win the best-of-seven series three games to two.

Mookie Betts set up the tying run with a sixth-inning double, scored the go-ahead run and added an insurance run by homering on an 0-2 pitch leading off the bottom of the eighth at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas.

Victor Gonzalez, the fifth of seven Dodger pitchers, was credited with the victory, retiring all four batters he faced, striking out three.

Julio Urias retired all seven batters he faced, striking out four, for the save.

Austin Barnes, the No. 9 hitter in the Dodgers’ lineup, singled off Blake Snell with one out in the sixth. The hit prompted Tampa Bay manager Kevin Cash to replace Snell with Nick Anderson.

Betts, the first batter to face Anderson, hit a 2-0 fastball for a double, advancing Barnes to third. Barnes scored the tying run on Anderson’s wild pitch.

Corey Seager, the next batter, hit a ground ball to Rays’ first baseman Ji-Man Choi. Betts broke for home and beat Choi’s throw to the plate for what proved to be the winning run.

Tampa Bay scored its run when Randy Arozarena, its second batter, homered off rookie right-hander Tony Gonsolin.

Anderson was charged with the loss.

Dodger third baseman Justin Turner was removed from the game in the top of the eighth inning because of a positive coronavirus test, Fox Sports reported.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.