Photo courtesy of the Los Angeles Dodgers
Photo courtesy of the Los Angeles Dodgers

The Los Angeles Unified School District‘s top first- year teachers from the 2014-15 school year will be honored at Sunday’s Los Angeles Dodgers-Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim interleague game at Dodger Stadium.

The district employed more than 900 first-year teachers in the 2014-15 school year, with 87 nominated by school site administrators and new teacher support for the inaugural Rookies of the Year award.

A committee selected the 23 winners based on characteristics, including effectiveness in preparing and delivering instruction; providing a positive classroom climate with strong routines and procedures; adopting a dynamic and engaging teaching style, and showing high levels of professionalism.

“These talented teachers are the building blocks of great schools,” said Superintendent Ramon C. Cortines. “They inspire young people. They encourage students to achieve, and embrace lifelong learning.”

Here is the list of honorees:

  • Emily Aguon, second grade, West Athens Elementary School;
  • Rosalinda Aleman, fifth grade, Franklin Avenue Elementary School;
  • Jasmine Allen-Matora, special education, 24th Street Elementary School;
  • Edgar Avalos, special education, Middleton Street Elementary School;
  • Rachel Axelrad, first grade, Hillcrest Elementary School;
  • Sara Benyaminy, kindergarten, West Hollywood Elementary School;
  • Jessica Blake, third grade, Trinity Street Elementary School;
  • Rigoberto Cruz, sciences, Franklin High School;
  • Alexander Dinh, biology, Downtown Business Magnet School;
  • Cindy Flores, kindergarten, Van Nuys Elementary School;
  • Jessica Garcia, kindergarten, Wisdom Elementary School;
  • Teasha Gilliam, fifth grade, Dr. Owen Knox Elementary School;
  • Lorenzo Hidalgo, special education, Bridge St. Elementary School;
  • Maria Huerta, fourth grade, Saticoy Elementary School;
  • Melissa Ally Kim, first grade, Weigand Elementary School;
  • Aja Koester, English, Nava College Preparatory School;
  • Heidy Lopez, first grade, Queen Anne Elementary School;
  • Kelsey Meek, biology, Washington Preparatory High School;
  • Jose Pillado, special education, Leichman High School;
  • Julia Rosenmeyer, kindergarten, 96th Street Elementary School;
  • Enrique Rodriguez, special education, Sheridan Elementary School;
  • Robert Sears, special education, Cochran Middle School;
  • Patrick Sherwood, math, Humanities & Arts Academy at Narbonne High School

— City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *