L.A. Police commission President Steve Soborof.
L.A. Police Commission President Steve Soborof. Photo by John Schreiber.

Steve Soboroff was unanimously voted in Tuesday as president of the Los Angeles Board of Police Commissioners, returning to the helm after serving for two years as vice president.

Matt Johnson, who has served for two years as president, was unanimously elected vice president, and the two men ceremoniously switched chairs immediately after the votes.

Soboroff, who is chairman of the Weingart Foundation and a senior fellow at the UCLA School of Public Policy, previously served as president of the Los Angeles Recreation and Parks Commission.

He said continuing to diversify the LAPD and recruiting young people away from gangs are some of his top priorities.

“More women, more African Americans, more Asians and Pacific Islanders should have the opportunity to wear our badge,” Soboroff said.

The board serves as the civilian oversight panel of the Los Angeles Police Department, and its presidents are only allowed to serve two consecutive years. Soboroff was appointed to the board in 2013 by Mayor Eric Garcetti and was immediately voted in as its president. Johnson, an entertainment lawyer, was appointed by Garcetti in 2015 and was also immediately voted in as president.

“Although my term as president is over, I look forward to continuing to work with my fellow commissioners,” said Johnson, a former member of the Board of Airport Commissioners.

–City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.