Photo via Wikimeida. 10 August 2016 Source
Photo via Wikimeida. 10 August 2016

Screenwriters and authors behind the films “Arrival,” “Fences,” “Hidden Figures,” “Lion” and “Moonlight” were nominated Wednesday for the USC Libraries’ Scripter Award.

The Scripter Award, established in 1988, honors authors of printed works and the screenwriters who adapt their stories.

For television programs, nominations went to individual episodes of “Game of Thrones,” “The Man in the High Castle,” “The Night Manager,” “Orange is the New Black” and “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story.”

The finalists for the awards were chosen from a field of 80 film and 45 television adaptations. Among the members of the selection committee are film critics Leonard Maltin, Anne Thompson and Kenneth Turan; producers Lawrence Kasdan and Paula Wagner; and USC deans Elizabeth Daley of the School of Cinematic Arts and Catherine Quinlan of the USC Libraries.

The awards for film and television will be presented Feb. 11 at a ceremony at USC’s Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. Academy Award winners Helen Mirren and Taylor Hackford will serve as honorary dinner chairs.

The film nominees are:

— screenwriter Eric Heisserer for “Arrival,” adapted from the novella “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang;

— August Wilson for the play and screenplay of “Fences”;

— screenwriters Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi for “Hidden Figures,” based on the nonfiction book by Margot Lee Shetterly;

— Luke Davies for the screenplay for “Lion,” adapted from the nonfiction book “A Long Way Home” by Saroo Brierley; and

— Barry Jenkins for “Moonlight,” adapted from “In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue,” by Tarell Alvin McCraney.

The television nominees are:

— screenwriters David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, for the episode “The Winds of Winter” from “Game of Thrones,” adapted from the series “A Song of Ice and Fire” by George R. R. Martin;

— Frank Spotnitz, Erik Oleson and Joe Kawasaki for the episode “Fallout” from “The Man in the High Castle,” based on the novel by Philip K. Dick;

— David Farr for the miniseries “The Night Manager,” based on the novel by John le Carre;

— Tara Herrmann and Jenji Kohan for the episode “Toast Can’t Never Be Bread Again”from “Orange is the New Black,” based on the memoir by Piper Kerman, “Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison”; and

— Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski for the episode “Manna From Heaven” from “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story,” based on the nonfiction book “The Run of His Life: The People v. O.J. Simpson,” by Jeffrey Toobin.

—City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.