“Green Book,” the upcoming drama about the friendship between a black pianist and his white chauffer and protector during a 1960s tour through the racially charged Deep South, will be honored at the 22nd annual Hollywood Film Awards.

The film, starring Viggo Mortensen, Mahershala Ali and Linda Cardellini, will receive the Hollywood Ensemble Award and Hollywood Screenwriter Award during the Nov. 4 ceremony at the Beverly Hilton. The film was directed by Peter Farrelly and co-written by Farrelly, Nick Vallelonga and Brian Currie.

The Hollywood Film Awards, honoring the most acclaimed films and actors while previewing highly anticipated films and talent for the upcoming year, also acknowledges artists in the categories of Cinematography, Visual Effects, Film Composing, Costume Design, Editing, Production Design, Sound and Makeup & Hairstyling.

In its 22-year history, more than 320 of the world’s biggest stars and filmmakers have been highlighted at the Hollywood Film Awards and more than 130 of the honorees have gone on to garner Oscar nominations or wins, organizers said.

“Green Book” joins previously announced honorees Glenn Close, who will receive the Hollywood Actress Award for her performance in “The Wife”; Hugh Jackman, who will receive the Hollywood Actor Award for his work in “The Front Runner”; and Damien Chazelle, who will receive the Hollywood Director Award for his work on “First Man.”

Other honorees previously announced are Nicole Kidman, who will receive this year’s Hollywood Career Achievement Award; Timothee Chalamet and Rachel Weisz, who will receive the Hollywood Supporting Actor Award and Hollywood Supporting Actress Award, respectively; “Crazy Rich Asians,” which will receive the Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award; Amandla Stenberg, who will receive the Hollywood Breakout Performance Actress Award; John David Washington, who will receive the Hollywood Breakout Performance Actor Award; Felix Van Groeningen, who will receive the Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award; and Yalitza Aparicio, who will receive the New Hollywood Award.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.