The American Film Institute Wednesday named its top 10 motion pictures and television programs of the year, an honor that recognizes productions for creative teams both in front of and behind the camera.

The AFI Awards honorees will be recognized during a private luncheon on Jan. 3 in Los Angeles.

AFI’s motion pictures of the year are “1917,” “The Farewell,” “The Irishman,” “Jojo Rabbit,” “Joker,” “Knives Out,” “Little Women,” “Marriage Story,” “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” and “Richard Jewell.”

Television programs chosen for the honor are “Chernobyl,” “The Crown,” “Fosse/Verdon,” “Game of Thrones,” “Pose,” “Succession,” “Unbelievable,” “Veep,” “Watchmen” and “When They See Us.”

According to AFI, the honorees are those deemed to be the year’s “most significant achievements in the art of the moving image.”

“All of the honored works advance the art of the moving image, inspire audiences and artists alike, enhance the rich cultural heritage of America’s art form and make a mark on American society,” according to AFI. “When placed in an historical context, these stories provide a complex and rich visual record of our modern world.”

AFI also announced special awards the motion picture “Parasite” and the television program “Fleabag.” The special awards honor “a work of excellence outside the institute’s criteria for American film and television.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *