Lawrence Fishburne and his “#FreeRayshawn” castmate Jasmine Cephas Jones were among the winners at Thursday’s fourth day of the five-day Creative Arts Emmy Awards.

Fishburne received the Emmy for outstanding actor in a short form comedy or drama series for his portrayal of New Orleans Police Department Lt. Steven Poincy.

Stephan James, who played the title role, Black Iraqi War veteran Rayshawn Morris who holes up in his apartment along with his family after an altercation with overzealous New Orleans Police Department officers who turns to social media and Poincy to try to clear his name, was also among the nominees, as was Oscar winner Christoph Waltz.

Waltz was nominated for his portrayal of hunt organizer Miles Sellars in “Most Dangerous Game,” which streamed on Quibi. He won best supporting actor Oscars in 2010 and 2013 for his work in “Inglourious Basterds” and “Django Unchained.”

The other nominees were Corey Hawkins, who starred in Quibi’s “Survive” as a survivor of a plane crash that left him and the other survivor (Sophie Turner) isolated on a remote snow-covered mountain, and Mamoudo Athie from FX’s “Oh Jerome, No (Cake).”

Jones won at the virtual ceremony for outstanding actress in a short form comedy or drama series for her portrayal of Morris’ wife.

The victory made Jones part of the 14th parent-and-child combination to both win Emmys. Her father, Ron Cephas Jones, won the outstanding guest actor in a drama series Emmy in 2018 for his role as the cancer-stricken biological father of Randall Pearson (Sterling K. Brown) on NBC’s “This Is Us.”

The elder Jones is among the nominees in the category that will be presented Saturday on the final day of the Creative Arts Emmy Awards.

Maya Rudolph won for outstanding character voice-over performance for supplying the voice of Connie the Hormone Monstress on Netflix’s “Big Mouth.”

The Emmy was the first for Rudolph, who had been nominated three times before this year. She could add a second Saturday. Her portrayals of California Sen. Kamala Harris on NBC’s “Saturday Night Live” and the all-knowing judge found in the Neutral Zone between the Bad Place and the Good Place on NBC’s “The Good Place” brought her outstanding guest actress in a comedy nominations.

The other nominees for outstanding character voice-over performance included Oscar winner Taika Waititi and two performers from “The Simpsons,” Hank Azaria, a four-time winner in the category, and Nancy Cartwright.

Waititi, who won the best adapted screenplay Oscar in February for “Jojo Rabbit” was nominated for character voice-over performance for supplying the voice of the bounty hunter droid IG-11 on Disney+’s “The Mandalorian.”

The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will conclude Saturday with what the Television Academy describes as a virtual ceremony where “an eclectic mix of awards across all genres” will be presented. The ceremony will be broadcast on FXX at 5 p.m.

The Creative Arts Emmy Awards began Monday with a ceremony honoring reality and nonfiction programming. Tuesday’s ceremony honored variety programming. Scripted programming was also honored Wednesday.

Awards in the top 23 categories in comedy, drama, competition, limited and variety talk series and the Governors Award will be presented at the 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards Sunday.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.