Concept artist John Eaves, known for his sci-fi illustrations and designs for “Star Trek” and many other films, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Art Directors Guild at the 25th annual ADG Awards, it was announced Wednesday.

“For the past 36 years, John’s work as a production illustrator has been an integral part of over 100 films and television shows. From props, to sets, to vehicles, to gadgets, and, most prominent and recognizable, a small fleet of starships for the `Star Trek’ franchise, John has inspired many and left an amazing mark on our industry,” said Tim Wilcox, ADG Illustrators & Matte Artists Council chair. “We celebrate his creativity, talent and contributions to the craft and honor him with this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award.”

Eaves has worked as a concept artist on many of Hollywood’s most successful franchises, creating sci-fi images of futuristic worlds, vehicles, spaceships and otherworldly designs that have become the foundations and concepts of dozens of motion picture franchises, including four “Star Trek” movies; “Captain America: The Winter Soldier”; “Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides”; “Spider-Man: Homecoming”; “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2”; and “Iron Man 3.”

His prop designer and model maker skills are on display in “Godzilla: King of the Monsters,” “Ant-Man and The Wasp,” “Ant-Man,” “Captain America: The Winter Soldier,” “Iron Man 2,” “Batman Forever,” “Toys,” “Die Hard 2,” “RoboCop 2” and “The Hunt for Red October,” among others.

This is the final of four Lifetime Achievement Awards to be announced by the guild, whose April 10 awards ceremony will break with tradition in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and be presented on a virtual platform, streaming to a worldwide audience. The event is free, but registration is required at

Academy Award- and Emmy-winning production designer Stuart Wurtzel, known for his work on “Hannah and Her Sisters” and “Angels in America,” will receive the ADG Lifetime Achievement Award from the Production Designers and Art Directors Council.

Martha Johnston, known for her 60-plus movie and television design credits, is the recipient of the ADG Set Designers & Model Makers’ Lifetime Achievement Award.

Scenic artist Patrick DeGreve, best known for his prolific backings, sets and props for shows created at CBS Television City over the past 45 years, will receive the ADG Lifetime Achievement Award from the Scenic, Title & Graphic Artists branch.

Television writer-director-producer Ryan Murphy (“American Horror Story,” “Glee,” “American Crime Story,” “The Normal Heart”) will receive the Cinematic Imagery Award.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *