The Los Angeles Philharmonic hasn’t officially started its summer season at the Hollywood Bowl yet, but the organization is already looking to the fall, announcing plans Tuesday for its 2021-22 season at the Walt Disney Concert Hall.

When the season begins in October, the famed downtown venue will have been shuttered for 19 months due to the COVID-19 pandemic

“Over this past year, the pandemic has isolated us from one another, and so as we celebrate our return to Walt Disney Concert Hall, we want to remember all that unites us, and all that is best in us,” said Gustavo Dudamel, the philharmonic’s music and artistic director. “This season, we will blend different musical traditions, bridge geographical borders and build new connections among cultures, communities, audiences and artists.

“Whether experiencing the overpowering message of freedom in Beethoven’s Fidelio; moving to the rhythms of Ginastera, Villa-Lobos and Revueltas in the Pan-American Music Initiative; or feeling the passionate urgency of change in Power to the People!, this season is about coming together and once again sharing the beauty of life with each other.”

The “Power to the People!” festival, organized by Dudamel and Herbie Hancock, will feature musicians from various genres and guests from the humanities, creating “a multidimensional vision of music and social change.”

The season will also include a multi-genre “Gen X” festival, paying tribute to a generation that “gave rise to hip-hop, riot grrrls, indie film and an explosion of new concert music transforming world culture.”

Also featured is “Reel Change: The New Era of Film Music,” and a staged production of Beethoven’s “Fidelio” conducted by Dudamel and produced in creation with Deaf West Theatre.

The season will also feature premieres of two dozen works commissioned by the LA Phil.

Among the artists set to take the stage during the season are Hancock, Ólafur Arnalds, Emanuel Ax, Nicola Benedetti, J’Nai Bridges, Yefim Bronfman, Robert Glasper, Jeff Goldblum, Hilary Hahn, Emmylou Harris, Leila Josefowicz, Sunwook Kim, Mon Laferte, Lang Lang, Igor Levit, Víkingur Ólafsson, Itzhak Perlman, Pink Martini, Beatrice Rana, Ry X, Golda Schultz, Andy Shauf, Sparks, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Sergio Tiempo, Daniil Trifonov, Yuja Wang and CeCe Winans.

All concerts will be available to full-capacity crowds.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *