President Obama
President Obama exits Air Force One on a trip to California. Photo by Chris Stone

The two-night 2022 Creative Arts Emmy Awards conclude Sunday at the Microsoft Theater with awards for scripted programming presented in 48 categories presented, including guest acting.

HBO’s “Succession” accounts for four of the six nominees for outstanding guest actor in a drama series — Adrien Brody, James Cromwell, Arian Moayed and Alexander Skarsgard — and three of the six guest actress in a drama series nominees — Hope Davis, Sanaa Lathan and Harriet Walter.

The other outstanding guest actor in a drama series nominees are Colman Domingo of HBO’s “Euphoria” and Tom Pelphrey of Netflix’s “Ozark.” The other outstanding guest actress in a drama series nominees are Marcia Gay Harden of Apple TV+’s “The Morning Show,” Martha Kelly of HBO’s “Euphoria” and Lee You-mi of Netflix’s “Squid Game.”

Walter is also nominated for outstanding guest actress in a comedy series for her portrayal of the mother of Premier League team owner Rebecca Welton (Hannah Waddingham) in Apple TV+’s “Ted Lasso.” Four of the nominees are from HBO’s “Hacks” — Jane Adams, Harriet Sansom Harris, Laurie Metcalf and Kaitlin Olson.

Jane Lynch is the other nominee for her role as the stunt double for semi-retired actor Charles-Haden Savage (Steve Martin) in Hulu’s “Only Murders In The Building.”

Jerrod Carmichael will try to follow Eddie Murphy and Dave Chappelle as the third consecutive “Saturday Night Live” host to win for outstanding guest actor in a comedy series. Nathan Lane was nominated for his role as deli chain owner Teddy Dimas in “Only Murders In The Building,” his sixth nomination in the category and seventh overall. He has never won an Emmy.

There are two nominees from “Ted Lasso” — James Lance for his portrayal of reporter Trent Crimm and Sam Richardson for his role as a Ghanaian billionaire who tries to persuade AFC Richmond right wing Sam Obisanya (Toheeb Jimoh) to sign with the Moroccan team he owns.

The other nominees are Bill Hader, nominated for portraying three characters on an episode of HBO’s “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” and Christopher McDonald, who has the recurring role of Palmetto Casino CEO Marty Ghilain on “Hacks.”

The Emmy for outstanding television movie will also be presented Sunday. The five nominees are from different streaming services or cable networks — Disney+’s “Chip n Dale: Rescue Rangers,” Showtime’s “Ray Donovan: The Movie,” Paramount+’s “Reno 911!: The Hunt For QAnon,” HBO/HBO Max’s “The Survivor” and The Roku Channel’s “Zoey’s Extraordinary Christmas.”

Most of Sunday’s awards are in various technical categories, including hairstyling, makeup, production design, picture editing, sound editing, sound mixing and visual effects.

Former President Barack Obama was among Saturday’s winners when awards were presented in 45 categories for reality, variety, documentary and nonfiction programming.

Obama won for outstanding narrator for the five-part Netflix documentary series, “Our Great National Parks,” for which he was also among the executive producers.

The Emmy nomination and award were the first for Obama, who has received three Grammy nominations for best spoken word album, winning twice.

The category’s nominees also included basketball legend Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who was nominated for his narration and interviews on the History documentary, “Black Patriots: Heroes Of The Civil War,” for which he was also among the executive producers.

Abdul-Jabbar also was nominated in the category in 2020 for “Black Patriots: Heroes of the Revolution,” losing to David Attenborough, who was also among Saturday’s nominees. The other nominees were W. Kamau Bell for Part 1 of the Showtime documentary, “We Need To Talk About Cosby,” and Lupita Nyong’o for the Discovery+ wildlife series, “Serengeti II.”

RuPaul won for the seventh consecutive year for outstanding host for a reality or competition program. The host of VH1’s “RuPaul’s Drag Race” has won each time he has been nominated.

RuPaul’s seven wins are the most in the category established in 2008. “Survivor’s” Jeff Probst is second with four.

The late actor Chadwick Boseman won for outstanding character voice-over performance for reprising the live-action role of T’Challa for the Disney+ Marvel Studios animated series, “What If…?” that reimagines famous events from Marvel Cinematic Universe films.

Boseman played the role in four films, including “Black Panther.”

The nomination was the first for Boseman, who died of colon cancer on Aug. 28, 2020, at the age of 43.

A second nominee in the category also was nominated posthumously. Jessica Walter was nominated for voicing spymaster Malory Archer on the FX adult animated comedy “Archer” for the second consecutive year. She died March 24, 2021, at age 80.

Maya Rudolph was seeking her third consecutive victory in the category. She won the past two years for supplying the voice of Connie the Hormone Monstress on the Netflix adult animated coming-of-age comedy “Big Mouth.”

Julie Andrews was nominated for the second consecutive year for providing the voice of the anonymous newsletter columnist Lady Whistledown on Netflix’s steamy alternate history period drama “Bridgerton.”

A second Oscar winner was also among the nominees, F. Murray Abraham, for supplying the voice of Khonshu, the Egyptian god of the moon and vengeance, in the Disney+ Marvel Cinematic Universe superhero limited series, “Moon Knight.”

“Arcane” won for outstanding animated program. The first-season Netflix series set in the universe of the multiplayer online battle arena video game League of Legends won in a field that also included Fox’s “The Simpsons,” an 11-time winner in the category, and Fox’s “Bob’s Burgers” and Adult Swim’s “Ricky and Morty,” both two-time winners.

“What If…?” which was in its first season, was the other nominee.

The concert performance “Adele: One Night Only,” which aired on CBS, and the Disney+ documentary series “The Beatles: Get Back” on the band’s January 1969 recording sessions, were the night’s top winners, with five each, while “Arcane” won four Emmys.

“Adele: One Night Only,” won for outstanding variety special (pre-recorded), outstanding lighting design/lighting direction for a variety special, outstanding sound mixing for a variety series or special, outstanding technical direction, camerawork, video control for a special and outstanding directing for a variety special.

`The Beatles: Get Back” won for outstanding documentary or nonfiction series, outstanding directing for a documentary/nonfiction program, outstanding sound editing for a nonfiction or reality program (single or multi-camera), outstanding picture editing for a nonfiction program and outstanding sound mixing for a nonfiction or reality program (single or multi-camera).

“Arcane” also won three Emmys for outstanding individual achievement in animation.

The Super Bowl LVI halftime show won for outstanding live variety special, outstanding production design for a variety special and outstanding music direction.

Programming must premiere between June 1, 2021, and May 31, 2022, to be eligible for an Emmy.

An edited presentation of the Saturday and Sunday’s ceremonies will air at 8 p.m. Saturday on FXX and be available for streaming on Hulu Sept. 11-27.

Awards in the top 25 categories in comedy, drama, competition, limited, variety sketch and talk series and the Governors Award will be presented at the 74th Primetime Emmy Awards on Sept. 12, also at the Microsoft Theater.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.