“Succession” and “Ted Lasso” took home the top honors again Monday evening at the 74th Emmy Awards — winning for outstanding drama series and comedy series, respectively, while “The White Lotus” pulled in five trophies on the night, including best limited series.

“Succession,” the HBO series about a well-to-do family that owns a global media company, captured three awards Monday night, adding to its awards-season cache. Besides drama series, it also took home trophies for Supporting Actor in a Drama Series, Matthew Macfadyen; and Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series, Jesse Armstrong.

The evening marked a continuation of “Succession’s” winning streak. The show also won the outstanding drama series Emmy in 2020 — but no new episodes aired during last year’s eligibility period. Netflix’s “The Crown” won best drama series last year.

“Succession” also won for best television series-drama at the Golden Globe Awards, outstanding performance by an ensemble in a drama series at the Screen Actors Guild Awards and outstanding producer of episodic television-drama at the Producers Guild Awards, those awards’ equivalent of the Emmys’ outstanding drama series, earlier this year.

“Ted Lasso,” the Jason Sudeikis vehicle on Apple TV+ about an American soccer coach in England, won four awards on Monday. Besides Outstanding Comedy Series, it also brought trophies to Sudeikis for Lead Actor in a Comedy Series for a second straight year; Brett Goldstein for Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series, also for a second consecutive year; and MJ Delaney for Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series.

The awards were handed out at the Microsoft Theater in downtown Los Angeles, with awards in 25 categories in all being handed out.

Besides winning the Emmy for Outstanding Limited Series, “The White Lotus” — HBO’s satirical comedy-drama about the lives of the staff and guests at a tropical resort in Hawaii — won Emmys for Jennifer Coolidge as Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie; Murray Bartlett for Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or Movie; and a pair for Mike White, one for directing and one for writing.

The award for Lead Actor in a Drama Series went to Lee Jung-jae of “Squid Game,” while the Lead Actress in a Drama Series went to Zendaya for “Euphoria.”

Other major winners Monday included Jean Smart for Lead Actress in a Comedy Series for “Hacks” — her second straight win; Michael Keaton for Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie for “Dopesick”; and Amanda Seyfried for Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie for “The Dropout.”

Netflix’s South Korean survival drama “Squid Game” had already made Emmy history with its nomination for outstanding drama series — the first non-English-language series to be so nominated — but was denied making more history when “Succession” won the drama series top prize.

Longtime “Saturday Night Live” cast member Kenan Thompson hosted the ceremony.

During the event, the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media received the Governors Award in recognition of its efforts to promote gender balance and foster inclusion throughout the entertainment industry.

The institute was founded in 2004 by the Oscar-winning actor Geena Davis. It is the only research-based organization working collaboratively within the entertainment industry to create gender balance, advocate for inclusion and reduce negative stereotyping in family entertainment media.

The Governors Award honors an individual, company or organization that has made a profound, transformational and long-lasting contribution to the arts and/or science of television.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.