Bong Joon Ho, Sam Mendes, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino and Taika Waititi were all nominated Tuesday for the Directors Guild of America Award for feature film directing, an honor that traditionally leads to victory on Oscar night.

Bong Joon Ho was nominated for the Korean thriller “Parasite.” Mendes, who won the Golden Globe for best director on Sunday night, was nominated for the World War I drama “1917.” Scorsese is nominated for the mob drama “The Irishman,” Tarantino for his period piece “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” and Taika Waititi for the World War II satire “Jojo Rabbit.”

The DGA directing award is seen as one of the best indicators of who will take home an Academy Award.

Since 1948, there have only been seven times that the winner of the DGA award for feature film directing has not gone on to win the Oscar for best director. The most recent time was 2013, when Ben Affleck won the DGA Award for “Argo,” but wasn’t even nominated for a directing Academy Award, even though the film won the Oscar for best picture.

For first-time directors, DGA nominations went to Mati Diop for “Atlantics,” Alma Har’el for “Honey Boy,” Melina Matsoukas for “Queen & Slim,” Tyler Nilson and Michael Schwartz for “The Peanut Butter Falcon” and Joe Talbot for “The Last Black Man in San Francisco.”

The 72nd annual DGA Awards will be presented Jan. 25 at the Ritz-Carlton in downtown Los Angeles.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *