Drake-rapper 640/360

Drake will carry a leading nine nominations into Sunday night’s presentation of the 16th annual BET Awards, while Beyonce and Rihanna each have five.

Drake is up for best male hip hop artist, along with Fetty Wap, Future, J. Cole, Kanye West and Kendrick Lamar.

He has two nominations in the best collaboration category — his work with Future on “Where Ya At” and with Rihanna on “Work.” Big Sean also has two nods in the category, for his work with Chris Brown and Ty Dolla $Ign on “Play No Games” and with Kanye West and John Legend on “One Man Can Change the World.” Nicki Minaj and Beyonce round out the category for “Feeling Myself.”

Chris Brown is nominated for best male R&B/pop artist, as are Bryson Tiller, Jeremih, The Weeknd and Tyrese. For best female R&B/pop artist, nominees are Adele, Andra Day, Beyonce, K. Michelle and Rihanna.

The awards honor performers in music, film/television and sports.

Anthony Anderson, who will co-host the ceremony with his “Black-ish” co-star Tracee Ellis Ross, is nominated for best actor, along with Courtney B. Vance, Idris Elba, Michael B. Jordan and O’Shea Jackson Jr. Ross is up for best actress, as are Gabrielle Union, Kerry Washington, Taraji P. Henson and Viola Davis.

The show at the Microsoft Theater will feature a tribute to Prince, featuring Sheila E., The Roots, D’Angelo and Janelle Monae. Also expected to perform at the event are Usher, Bryson Tiller, Desiigner, Future, Alicia Keys and Maxwell.

During the show, actor Samuel L. Jackson will be presented with a lifetime achievement award. Actor Jesse Williams (“Grey’s Anatomy”) will receive the Humanitarian Award, honoring his efforts on behalf of the Black Lives Matter movement.

Here is a complete list of nominees: Best Female R&B/Pop Artist

— Adele

— Andra Day

— Beyonce

— K. Michelle

— Rihanna Best Male R&B/Pop Artist

— Bryson Tiller

— Chris Brown

— Jeremih

— The Weeknd

— Tyrese Best Group

— 2 Chainz & Lil Wayne

— Drake & Future

— Puff Daddy & The Family

— Rae Sremmurd

— The Internet Best Collaboration

— Big Sean feat. Chris Brown & Ty Dolla $Ign, “Play No Games”

— Big Sean feat. Kanye West & John Legend, “One Man Can Change the World”

— Future feat. Drake, “Where Ya At”

— Nicki Minaj feat. Beyonce, “Feeling Myself”

— Rihanna feat. Drake, “Work” Best Male Hip Hop Artist

— Drake

— Fetty Wap

— Future

— J. Cole

— Kanye West

— Kendrick Lamar Best Female Hip Hop Artist

— Dej Loaf

— Lil Kim

— Missy Elliott

— Nicki Minaj

— Remy Ma Video of the Year

— Beyonce, “Formation”

— Bryson Tiller, “Don’t”

— Drake, “Hotline Bling”

— Kendrick Lamar, “Alright”

— Rihanna feat. Drake, “Work” Video Director of the Year

— Benny Boom

— Chris Brown

— Colin Tilley & The Little Homies

— Director X

— Hype Williams Best New Artist

— Alessia Cara

— Andra Day

— Bryson Tiller

— Kehlani

— Tory Lanez Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

— Anthony Brown & Group Therapy

— Erica Campbell

— Kirk Franklin

— Lecrae

— Tamela Mann

— Tasha Cobbs Best Actress

— Gabrielle Union

— Kerry Washington

— Taraji P. Henson

— Tracee Ellis Ross

— Viola Davis Best Actor

— Anthony Anderson

— Courtney B. Vance

— Idris Elba

— Michael B. Jordan

— O’shea Jackson Jr. Youngstars Award

— Amandla Stenberg

— Quvenzhane Wallis

— Silento

— Willow Smith

— Yara Shahidi Best Movie

— “Beasts of No Nation”

— “Concussion”

— “Creed”

— “Dope”

— “Straight Outta Compton” Sportswoman of the Year

— Cheyenne Woods

— Gabrielle Douglas

— Serena Williams

— Skylar Diggins

— Venus Williams Sportsman of the Year

— Cam Newton

— Kobe Bryant

— Lebron James

— Odell Beckham Jr.

— Stephen Curry Coca-Cola Viewers’ Choice Award

— Beyonce, “Formation”

— Bryson Tiller, “Don’t”

— Chris Brown, “Back to Sleep”

— Drake, “Hotline Bling”

— Future feat. Drake, “Where Ya At”

— Rihanna feat. Drake, “Work” Centric Award

— Andra Day, “Rise Up”

— Beyonce, “Formation”

— K. Michelle, “Not a Little Bit”

— Rihanna, “Bitch Better Have My Money”

— The Internet, “Under Control” Best International Act Africa

— Aka (South Africa)

— Black Coffee (South Africa)

— Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)

— Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

— Mzvee (Ghana)

— Serge Beynaud (Cote D’ivoire)

— Wizkid (Nigeria)

— Yemi Alade (Nigeria) Best International Act U.K.

— Kano

— Krept & Konan

— Lianne La Havas

— Skepta

— Stormzy

— Tinie Tempah

—City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.