Bradley Cooper’s directorial debut “A Star is Born” scored a leading four film nominations Wednesday for the 25th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards, while the comedy series “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” and the drama “Ozark” led the television categories, earning four nods each.

“A Star is Born” earned nominations for outstanding ensemble cast — the SAG Awards equivalent of best picture — along with best actor and actress nods for Cooper and Lady Gaga, and a supporting-actor nomination for Sam Elliott.

Also nominated for the ensemble-cast prize were “Black Panther,” “BlacKkKlansman,” “Bohemian Rhapsody” and “Crazy Rich Asians.”

Cooper will compete for best actor honors with Christian Bale of “Vice,” Rami Malek for “Bohemian Rhapsody,” Viggo Mortensen for “Green Book” and John David Washington of “BlacKkKlansman.”

Joining Lady Gaga in the best actress category were Emily Blunt for “Mary Poppins Returns,” Glenn Close for “The Wife,” Olivia Colman for “The Favourite” and Melissa McCarthy for “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”

Blunt also scored a nomination in the supporting-actress category for her work in the thriller “A Quiet Place.” Emma Stone and Rachel Weisz were both nominated for their supporting work in “The Favourite,” along with Amy Adams of “Vice” and Margo Robbie for “Mary Queen of Scots.”

Mahershala Ali earned a supporting-actor nomination for his work with Mortensen in “Green Book.” Timothee Chalamet was nominated for his role in “Beautiful Boy,” along with Elliott for “A Star is Born,” Adam Driver for “BlacKkKlansman” and Richard E. Grant for “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”

Prime Video’s Emmy-winning “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” leads the list of nominees for best ensemble cast in a TV comedy series. Also competing for the prize will be the casts of FX’s “Atlanta,” HBO’s newcomer “Barry” and Netflix’s `GLOW” and “The Kominsky Method.”

Rachel Brosnahan and Alex Borstein were both nominated for best actress in a comedy series for “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel.” At the Emmy Awards in September, Brosnahan won for best actress and Borstein won for supporting actress, but the SAG Awards do not have categories for supporting performances in TV series.

“Grace and Frankie” co-stars Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin were also nominated for outstanding comedy series actress, with Alison Brie of “GLOW” rounding out the category.

Bill Hader and Henry Winkler, who won best actor and supporting-actor Emmys, respectively, for their work in “Barry,” were nominated for the SAG Award for comedy series actor. Alan Arkin and Michael Douglas were both nominated for their roles in “The Kominsky Method,” as was Tony Shaloub of “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel.”

On the drama side, Netflix’s “Ozark” led the way with nominations for outstanding drama series cast, best actor for Jason Bateman and best actress nods for Julia Garner and Laura Linney.

The show will compete for best drama-series cast with FX’s “The Americans,” AMC’s “Better Call Saul,” Hulu’s “The Handmaid’s Tale” and NBC’s “This Is Us.”

Sterling K. Brown of “This Is Us” was nominated for best actor in a drama series — giving him a total of three SAG nominations, along with his nods as part of the ensemble cast of “This Is Us” and the ensemble cast of the film “Black Panther.”

Also vying for best drama series actor are Bateman, Joseph Fiennes of “The Handmaid’s Tale,” John Krasinski of “Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan” and Bob Odenkirk for “Better Call Saul.”

Garner and Linney were joined in the best drama series actress category by Elisabeth Moss for “The Handmaid’s Tale,” Sandra Oh for BBC America’s “Killing Eve” and Robin Wright for Netflix’s “House of Cards.”

Amy Adams (“Vice”) and Emma Stone (“The Favourite”) also scored nominations for best actress in a TV movie or limited series for their respective roles in HBO’s “Sharp Objects” and Netflix’s “Maniac.” Patricia Clarkson was also nominated for “Sharp Objects,” with other nods going to Patricia Arquette for Showtime’s “Escape and Dannemora” and Penelope Cruz for FX’s “The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story.”

Cruz’s co-star, Darren Criss, was nominated for best actor in a TV movie or limited series for his work in the FX production. Also competing will be Antonio Banderas for his work in National Geographic’s “Genius: Picasso,” Hugh Grant for Prime Video’s “A Very English Scandal,” Anthony Hopkins for Prime Video’s “King Lear” and Bill Pullman for USA Network’s “The Sinner.”

The SAG nominations were announced in West Hollywood by actress/singer Awkwafina, who appeared in “Crazy Rich Asians,” and Laverne Cox of “Orange is the New Black.”

The SAG Awards ceremony will be held Jan. 27 at the Shrine Auditorium. Last year, the show was hosted by Kristen Bell — the first time the ceremony has ever had a host. There was no word on whether a host will be tabbed to lead January’s event.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *