walk of fame
Photo by John Schreiber.

Rock band Aerosmith was supposed to receive a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame Thursday, but the ceremony had to be scrubbed due to the rain.

The ceremony had been set for 11:30 a.m., but by mid-morning, the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce announced that it had decided to postpone the event thanks to the storm pounding the region.

Steven Tyler, leader of the group that has won four Grammys and was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2001, was expected to attend the ceremony, along with actress Sharon Stone.

A new date for the event was not immediately announced.

Formed in 1970 in Boston by Tyler, lead guitarist Joe Perry, bassist Tom Hamilton and drummer Joey Kramer, the band added guitarist Brad Whitford in 1971, forming what it has billed as “America’s Greatest Rock and Roll Band.”

Aerosmith has sold more than 150 million albums, beginning with the 1973 release of its first album, titled “Aerosmith.” It would release a new album each of the next three years “Get Your Wings” in 1974, “Toys In The Attic” in 1975 and “Rocks” in 1976 and became a huge live draw in arenas and stadiums.

Perry left the band in 1979 and Whitford in 1981, later to return.

Following a slump in the early 1980s, Aerosmith began to reverse its fortunes when Perry and Tyler collaborated with Run-D.M.C. for a remake of “Walk This Way,” which received a Soul Train Award for best rap single.

The band’s winning streak continued with the album’s “Permanent Vacation” in 1987 and “Pump” in 1989.

Aerosmith received the first of its four best rock performance by a duo or group with vocal in 1991 for “Janie’s Got A Gun.” Its others were for “Livin’ On The Edge” in 1994, “Crazy” in 1995 and “Pink” in 1999.

Aerosmith has also received eight American Music Awards, six Billboard Awards and 12 MTV Video Music Awards.

Aerosmith will begin a residency in Las Vegas titled “Deuces Are Wild” April 6 at the Park MGM hotel and casino set to run through Dec. 4.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *