Composers Hans Zimmer and Alexandre Desplat and songwriters/singers including Lin-Manuel Miranda, Billie Eilish and Jay-Z were among the artists nominated Tuesday for the third annual Society of Composers & Lyricists Awards.

Zimmer was nominated for his score for the sci-fi film “Dune,” while Desplat was nominated for “The French Dispatch.” Also nominated in the studio film category were Nicholas Britell for “Don’t Look Up,” Germaine Franco for “Encanto” and Jonny Greenwood for “The Power of the Dog.”

Greenwood was also nominated in the independent film category for his score for “Spencer.” Also nominated were Kubilay Uner for “American Traitor: The Trial of Axis Sally,” Daniel Hart for “The Green Knight,” Rachel Portman for “Julia” and Alberto Iglesias for “Parallel Mothers.”

Eilish and Jay-Z were both nominated for best song in a drama/documentary — Eilish for “No Time to Die” from the James Bond film of the same name, and Jay-Z for “Guns Go Bang” from “The Harder They Fall.” Diane Warren was nominated twice in the category, for “Somehow You Do” from “Four Good Days” and for “(Never Gonna) Tame You” from “The Mustangs: America’s Wild Horses,” while Rufus Wainwright was nominated for “Secret Sister from “Rebel Hearts.”

Miranda landed a nod for best song in a musical/comedy for “Home All Summer” from “In the Heights.” Also nominated in the category were Ariana Grande for “Just Look Up” from “Don’t Look Up”; Jennifer Hudson and Carole King for “Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)” from “Respect”; Amie Doherty for “Fearless” from “Spirit Untamed” and Kris Bowers and Siedah Garrett for “Together All the Way” from “Dear White People.”

The SCL Awards ceremony, hosted by Darren Criss, will be held Feb. 1 at the Skirball Cultural Center.

During the show, composer Carter Burwell and filmmakers Joel & Ethan Coen will receive The Spirit of Collaboration Award, honoring their partnership on 17 films, including “Raising Arizona,” “The Big Lebowski” and “No Country for Old Men.”


— Nicholas Britell, “Don’t Look Up”

— Hans Zimmer, “Dune”

— Germaine Franco, “Encanto”

— Alexandre Desplat, “The French Dispatch”

— Jonny Greenwood, “The Power of the Dog”


— Kubilay Uner, “American Traitor: The Trial of Axis Sally:

— Daniel Hart, “The Green Knight”

— Rachel Portman, “Julia”

— Alberto Iglesias, “Parallel Mothers”

— Jonny Greenwood, “Spencer”


— Nicholas Britell, Ariana Grande, Scott Mescudi and Taura Stinson, “Just Look Up” from “Don’t Look Up”

— Jamie Hartman, Jennifer Hudson and Carole King, “Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)” from “Respect”

— Amie Doherty, “Fearless” from “Spirit Untamed”

— Kris Bowers, Siedah Garrett, “Together All the Way” from “Dear White People”

— Lin-Manuel Miranda, “Home All Summer” from “In the Heights”


— Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell, “No Time To Die” from “No Time to Die”

— Diane Warren, “Somehow You Do” from “Four Good Days”

— Rufus Wainwright, “Secret Sister” from Rebel Hearts”

— Diane Warren, “(Never Gonna) Tame You” from “The Mustangs: America’s Wild Horses”

— Shawn Carter, Scott Mescudi and Jeymes Samuel, “Guns Go Bang” from “The Harder They Fall”


— Natalie Holt, “Loki”

— Jung Jae-il, “Squid Game”

— Nicholas Britell, “Succession”

— Christophe Beck, “Wandavision”

— Cristobel Tapia de Veer, “The White Lotus”


— Austin Wintory, “Alien Fireteam Elite”

— Hildur Gudnadóttir and Sam Slater, “Battlefield 2042”

— Germaine Franco, “Kung Fu Panda: Land of Awesomeness”


— Joy Ngiaw, “Blush”

— Anne-Kathrin Dern, “The Claus Family”

— Stephanie Economou, “Jupiter’s Legacy”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *