Photo by John Schreiber.

Nominations for the 116 categories in the 69th annual Primetime Emmy Awards will be announced Thursday morning with the first-year series “This Is Us,” “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “Stranger Things” and “The Crown” among the contenders for the seven outstanding drama series nominations.

NBC’s “This Is Us” would be the first nominee in the category from the four major broadcast networks since CBS’ “The Good Wife” in 2011. A series from the major broadcast networks has not won in the category since Fox’s “24” in 2006.

“This Is Us” was among the 10 series selected by the American Film Institute as TV Programs of the Year, along with “The Americans,” “Better Call Saul,” “The Crown” and “Stranger Things.”

“This Is Us,” also received a Golden Globe nomination for best drama series, losing to Netflix’s “The Crown,” and a Writers Guild Awards nomination for best new series, when it was beaten by FX’s “Atlanta.”

“Stranger Things,” which is streamed by Netflix, won the Screen Actors Guild Award for outstanding performance by an ensemble in a drama series and for show of the year at the MTV Movie + TV Awards. It also received Golden Globe and Writers Guild Award nominations for best drama series and a Writers Guild Award nomination best new series.

HBO’s “Game of Thrones,” the winner the past two years, isn’t eligible to be nominated because its only new episodes airing during the eligibility period were part of the body of work considered for last year’s victory.

Last year’s other nominees hoping for another nomination are FX’s “The Americans”; AMC’s “Better Call Saul”; Netflix’s “House of Cards”; Showtime’s “Homeland”; and USA Network’s “Mr. Robot.”

HBO’s “Veep,” the winner for outstanding comedy series the past two seasons, is expected to be among the seven nominees in the category this year. “Veep” and “Atlanta” are the only comedies among AFI’s TV Programs of the Year.

ABC’s “Modern Family” is seeking its eighth nomination in its eight seasons. It was the winner in the category for five consecutive seasons, tying the record set by NBC’s “Frasier” from 1994-98.

Other honorees from last year seeking repeat nominations are ABC’s “black-ish”; Netflix’s “Master of None” and “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”; HBO’s “Silicon Valley”; and Amazon Instant Video’s “Transparent.”

CBS’ “The Amazing Race” is expected to again be among the nominees for outstanding reality-competition program. It has been nominated each of the preceding 15 years the category has been in existence. It won each of the first seven years, and again in 2011, 2012 and 2014.

NBC’s “American Ninja Warrior” received its first nomination in the category last year after the nominees were unchanged for four consecutive years. Last year’s other nominees were NBC’s “The Voice” and Bravo’s “Top Chef,” the only other winners; ABC’s “Dancing with the Stars”; and Lifetime’s “Project Runway.”

Fox’s “So You Think You Can Dance” streak of being nominated in the category for five consecutive years ended last year.

The biggest rule changes are the creation of two new categories: outstanding music supervision, to acknowledge the creative contributions made by the supervisor to the music of any television program; and outstanding casting in a reality series to recognize casting directors responsible for identifying and assembling ensemble casts for structured, unstructured or competition programs within the alternative genre.

“In our ever-changing world of television, it’s important to annually evaluate and refine the rules of Emmy competition,” said Television Academy Chairman and CEO Hayma Washington. “We are keeping pace with industry innovators, and recognizing excellence within new and changing genres and platforms.”

The academy also split the former cinematography for a single-camera series category into cinematography for hour and half-hour series, and added two award categories in interactive media, a new category award for interactive programs and a new juried award for outstanding innovation in interactive programming.

Anna Chlumsky from “Veep” and Shemar Moore, who will star in the new CBS series “S.W.A.T.”, will join Washington in announcing the nominees in the top categories at the Television Academy’s North Hollywood headquarters.

The 69th annual Primetime Emmy Awards, which honor programming initially airing between 6 p.m. and 2 a.m. from June 1, 2016, to May 31, 2017, will be presented Sept. 17 at the Microsoft Theater with late-night talk show host Stephen Colbert as the host. The ceremony will be televised by CBS.

The bulk of the Primetime Emmys will be presented at the Creative Arts Emmy Awards Sept. 9-10, also at the Microsoft Theater.

— City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.