The late comic icon Joan Rivers, writer and producer Shonda Rhimes, producer John Wells and the original cast of “Saturday Night Live” have been voted into the Television Academy Hall of Fame, the academy’s selection committee announced Thursday.

Rhimes is best known for creating the shows “Grey’s Anatomy” and “Scandal.”

Wells has been a producer and/or showrunner for “ER,” “The West Wing” and “Shameless,” among others.

Dan Aykroyd, John Belushi, Chevy Chase, Jane Curtin, Garrett Morris, Laraine Newman, and Gilda Radner will be honored for their groundbreaking work on “SNL” in the mid-1970s.

The 24th Hall of Fame class also includes 10-time Emmy-winning art director and production designer Roy Christopher.

“All of these individuals are innovators who have shaped television and left an indelible mark on the medium and our culture,” said Hayma Washington, chairman and CEO of the Television Academy. “We are honored to welcome the latest group of distinguished individuals and look forward to showcasing their impacts for future generations.”

The induction ceremony will take place Nov. 15 at the Television Academy’s Saban Media Center in North Hollywood.

–City News Service

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.